ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » MQ OAM permissions issue

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQ OAM permissions issue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Sam Uppu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:14 pm    Post subject: MQ OAM permissions issue Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 610

Hi Guys,
We have a cluster queue called CLUSTERQ defined on mainframe QMgr. The application trying to access that queue for putting msgs from a Qmgr on unix which is part of the same MQ cluster.

This setup is done by someone prior to me.

The application is able to put msgs onto cluster queue by connecting MQclient via SVRCONN channel in PROD where as the application is getting 2035 in Test environment.

I was under the impression that we need to have a locally defined Alias queue for every cluster queue(which is defined remotely). In our prod environment, the app is able to put msgs onto cluster queue(defined on mainframe) by connecting thru Qmgr on unix side.

I dont see any Alias queue in PROD which points to actual cluster queue on mainframe.

Code:
mqm@server1# ./dspmqaut -m QM1 -t qmgr -g group1
Entity group1 has the following authorizations for object QM1:
        inq
        set
        connect
        altusr
        dlt
        chg
        dsp
        setid
        setall

Code:
# ./dspmqaut -m QM1 -t q -n CLUSTERQ -g group1
AMQ7085: Object CLUSTERQ, type q not found.


Here are the client channel definitions:
Code:
dis chl(CLIENT.SVRCONN)
     2 : dis chl(CLIENT.SVRCONN)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
   CHANNEL(CLIENT.SVRCONN)              CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
   ALTDATE(2009-12-09)                     ALTTIME(10.57.00)
   COMPHDR(NONE)                           COMPMSG(NONE)
   DESCR( )                                HBINT(300)
   KAINT(AUTO)                             MAXMSGL(4194304)
   MCAUSER(app1)                        MONCHL(QMGR)
   RCVDATA( )                              RCVEXIT( )
   SCYDATA( )                              SCYEXIT( )
   SENDDATA( )                             SENDEXIT( )
   SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)                      SSLCIPH( )
   SSLPEER( )                              TRPTYPE(TCP)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
   CHANNEL(CLIENT.SVRCONN)              CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN)
   ALTDATE(2009-12-09)                     ALTTIME(11.03.48)
   COMPHDR(NONE)                           COMPMSG(NONE)
   CONNAME(server1.com(1423))      DESCR( )
   HBINT(300)                              KAINT(AUTO)
   LOCLADDR( )                             MAXMSGL(4194304)
   MODENAME( )                             PASSWORD( )
   QMNAME(QM1)                       RCVDATA( )
   RCVEXIT( )                              SCYDATA( )
   SCYEXIT( )                              SENDDATA( )
   SENDEXIT( )                             SSLCIPH( )
   SSLPEER( )                              TPNAME( )
   TRPTYPE(TCP)                            USERID( )

The id used in MCAUSER, app1 is part of group 'group1' and the group, group1 is provided with the permissions as shown above.

Can you please let me know if I am missing anything here?.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:59 pm    Post subject: Re: MQ OAM permissions issue Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9472
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Sam Uppu wrote:

The application is able to put msgs onto cluster queue by connecting MQclient via SVRCONN channel in PROD where as the application is getting 2035 in Test environment.

What MQ call resulted in the 2035 in test? What userid?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Let me get this straight: you have an application connecting via client to a UNIX-based queue manager, which then routes messages to a z/OS-based queue manager via cluster channels?

As you stated "...The application is able to put msgs onto cluster queue..." in the Production environment I suggest you check the Production-environment UNIX queue manager authorities, specifically what authorities that group1 has for the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9472
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

I read this as the client app is connecting to the z/OS qmgr, and getting the 2035 on z/OS.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

bruce2359 wrote:
I read this as the client app is connecting to the z/OS qmgr, and getting the 2035 on z/OS.

The poster stated "...In our prod environment, the app is able to put msgs onto cluster queue(defined on mainframe) by connecting thru Qmgr on unix side...".
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sam Uppu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 610

exerk wrote:
Let me get this straight: you have an application connecting via client to a UNIX-based queue manager, which then routes messages to a z/OS-based queue manager via cluster channels?

As you stated "...The application is able to put msgs onto cluster queue..." in the Production environment I suggest you check the Production-environment UNIX queue manager authorities, specifically what authorities that group1 has for the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE.


Yes. You are right. The user group, group1 got below permissions on SCTQ in PROD where as not in QA. Thatswhy the app dont see any issue in PROD whereas issues in QA.


# ./dspmqaut -m QM1 -t q -n SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE -g group1
Entity group1 has the following authorizations for object SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE:
get
browse
put
inq
set
passid
passall
setid
setall

Question:
Do you think of any case where we need more than connect & inq permissions at the QMgr level(on unix)?.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Sam Uppu wrote:

Question:Do you think of any case where we need more than connect & inq permissions at the QMgr level(on unix)?

Yes. The case where an application requires more than just connect and inquire, and that depends on the application requirements.

I suggest you sort out your Production environment because at the moment it's very much a case of "where do you want to go in the cluster today?" for that application, including system queues on other queue managers.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » MQ OAM permissions issue
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.