ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » how to set MQEnvironment.sslCipherSuite without code

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 how to set MQEnvironment.sslCipherSuite without code « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
fred6473
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:57 am    Post subject: how to set MQEnvironment.sslCipherSuite without code Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

I have a standalone Java JMS application sending messages to WebSphere MQ. It uses the WMQInitialContextFactory class and the only way I have been able to get it to communicate with WebSphere over SSL is to change the java code to set MQEnvironment.sslCipherSuite="SSL_RSA_WITH_NULL_MD5";

Please can someone tell me if it is possible to set this property without code changes, e.g. as a JVM argument, in a property file, as an environment variable?

Any help is much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Do not use the WMQInitialContextFactory.

It pretends that your queue manager is your JNDI server. This is like pretending that your database is a messaging product, or your Java Application Server is a webserver.

If you need SSL in order to talk to your Qmgr and you are pretending that your qmgr is your JNDI server, then you need SSL to talk to your JNDI server.

In general, however, the answer to your question is to use a CCDT and use the JDNI Properties that specify the CCDT for your QCF rather than setting hostname, qm name and port.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred6473
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

Quote:
In general, however, the answer to your question is to use a CCDT and use the JDNI Properties that specify the CCDT for your QCF rather than setting hostname, qm name and port.


Please can you suggest an example JNDI property to specify the CCDT? Would that still work if using WMQInitialContextFactory? I am struggling to find specific examples of this on the web.

I am not allowed to add vendor specific code to the application - only specify things like WMQInitialContextFactory, PROVIDER_URL in configuration files.

Many thanks for the advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/topic/com.ibm.mq.csqzaw.doc/jm10910_.htm

This is NOT "provider specific code".

This is a provider specific PROPERTY.

In the same way that your JNDI URL is PROVIDER SPECIFIC.

Again, you are MUCH better off NOT using the WMQInitialContext. ESPECIALLY WHEN TRYING TO USE SSL.

The WMQInitialContext has to establish a connection to MQ before it can get the information needed to establish a connection to MQ.

You are using the QMgr as a JNDI server.

PLEASE convert to using the file based initial context provider or to a real JNDI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lars2306
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

Hi,

I've exactly the same requirement. Has there been a solution for this question?




Thnx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Lars2306 wrote:
Has there been a solution for this question?


What part of the last post wasn't a solution?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » how to set MQEnvironment.sslCipherSuite without code
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.