ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » AMQCLCHL.TAB

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 AMQCLCHL.TAB « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
run
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 45
Location: Newyork, USA

Had same problem below is how it got fixed:

Please re-install with new binaries 7.0.1.0 with fixpack 3 from the IBM website . Mine was a problem related to earlier downloaded binaries 7.0.1.0 fixpack 2. As this is windows after installing create queue manager, listener and in the advanced setting client connection create a new client channel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Something I don't think has been mentioned is that CLNTCONN channels are stored internally in the qmgr along with all other channel objects (since V6.0 I think). If there is a CCDT properly defined to the qmgr at the time that CLNTCONN channel operations are performed, the qmgr will *also* update the CCDT.

Therefore if you are running define channel commands against an "empty" CCDT, you will need to use "define .... replace" if the channels have previously been defined on that qmgr.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9470
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Quote:
Therefore if you are running define channel commands against an "empty" CCDT, you will need to use "define .... replace" if the channels have previously been defined on that qmgr.

Well, yes, if you leave the AMQCLCHL.TAB in pristine state, then definitions must conform to the same syntax as other objects - with REPLACE/NOREPLACE.

I'm a believer in creating objects from MQSC scripts. If a new object definition is needed, it should be added to the script, and the script re-played - with REPLACE.

My suggestion for the OP was to create a script for each client; with the resulting channel table renamed to some name with meaning. If this process is followed, the new MQCLCHL.TAB will be discrete to the client.

If there is no AMQLCHL.TAB file (as there will be none after a rename), then a new one will be created with the new DEFs.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

bruce2359 wrote:
Quote:
Therefore if you are running define channel commands against an "empty" CCDT, you will need to use "define .... replace" if the channels have previously been defined on that qmgr.

Well, yes, if you leave the AMQCLCHL.TAB in pristine state, then definitions must conform to the same syntax as other objects - with REPLACE/NOREPLACE.

I'm a believer in creating objects from MQSC scripts. If a new object definition is needed, it should be added to the script, and the script re-played - with REPLACE.

My suggestion for the OP was to create a script for each client; with the resulting channel table renamed to some name with meaning. If this process is followed, the new MQCLCHL.TAB will be discrete to the client.

If there is no AMQLCHL.TAB file (as there will be none after a rename), then a new one will be created with the new DEFs.


This is basically what I use on Windows to create a CCDT. "define-clntconn-xyzapp-01.bat" contains:
Code:
@echo off

rem Local Windows queue manager name
set WINQMGR=MQGBT1

rem CCDT file name to be generated, with version number
set TABFILE=xyzapp01.tab

echo ****** Delete %TABFILE%
del /q %TABFILE%

echo.
echo ****** Restart the local qmgr %WINQMGR% with CCDT environment variables set
endmqm -i %WINQMGR%

set MQCHLLIB=%CD%
set MQCHLTAB=%TABFILE%
echo MQCHLLIB=%MQCHLLIB%
echo MQCHLTAB=%MQCHLTAB%

strmqm %WINQMGR%

echo.
echo ****** Define the CLNTCONN channels in the CCDT
runmqsc %WINQMGR% <xyzapp-mqsc-01.txt
pause

echo.
echo ****** Display all CLNTCONN channels in the CCDT
echo dis chl('XYZ*') chltype(clntconn) all | runmqsc %WINQMGR%
pause


"xyzapp-mqsc-01.txt" contains:
Code:
define channel('XYZ.CLIENT.DEV') chltype(clntconn) replace +
 trptype(tcp) qmname('MQXYZD01') conname('xyz.devbox.com(1415)') +
 descr('dev XYZ client channel')
*
define channel('XYZ.CLIENT.TEST') chltype(clntconn) replace +
 trptype(tcp) qmname('MQXYZT01') conname('xyz.testbox.com') +
 descr('test XYZ client channel')
*
define channel('XYZ.CLIENT.PROD') chltype(clntconn) replace +
 trptype(tcp) qmname('MQXYZP01') conname('xyz.prodbox.com') +
 descr('prod XYZ client channel')


Double click on the .bat file in Windows Explorer, and hey presto, one CCDT created in the folder.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

gbaddeley wrote:
Something I don't think has been mentioned is that CLNTCONN channels are stored internally in the qmgr along with all other channel objects (since V6.0 I think). If there is a CCDT properly defined to the qmgr at the time that CLNTCONN channel operations are performed, the qmgr will *also* update the CCDT.

Therefore if you are running define channel commands against an "empty" CCDT, you will need to use "define .... replace" if the channels have previously been defined on that qmgr.


I think this point has been pointed out here, when I asked that any operation on 'existing' client conn channel like alter/delete..won't the qmgr (that holds that obj's file) would look into AMQCLCHL.TAB file for its updation. (This is the scenario when we use standard methods to create/alter/delete the client conn channel as mq explorer/mqsc commands).

And when I used MO72 (as suggested in above recent posts) on windows, using following command to create .TAB file, which doesn't create the client conn. channel inside some qmgr But puts the binary definition of that channel into a customized IPS2_TODERBY.TAB file.

Code:
C:\varun\WMQStuff\mo72\Windows>mqsc -n -t IPS2_TODERBY.TAB
Current channel table file not found
Can not find file 'C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\IPS2_TODERBY.TAB'
>DEFINE CHANNEL(IPS2_TODERBY) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) QMNAME(DERBY) CONNAME('9.50.51.52(1414)') TRPTYPE(TCP)
AMQ8016: WebSphere MQ channel 'IPS2_TODERBY' defined
>
>END
MQSC Ended

_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

That command does not create a CCDT file. Look at the readme file for MO72 and work out what it is that's missing...

...hint: "...Copy the AMQCLCHL.TAB file to a location of your choice, to use as a template..."

EDIT: doh! yes it does, but in the default install path - I plead lack of caffeine in my (poor) defence.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

exerk wrote:
...hint: "...Copy the AMQCLCHL.TAB file to a location of your choice, to use as a template..."

Its not required in my case, I wanted to have different .TAB Files for each of the clients. Yes copy of AMQCLCHL.TAB file Or any other customized file is required when someone wants to Append the client conn. def in that existing file.
exerk wrote:
EDIT: doh! yes it does, but in the default install path - I plead lack of caffeine in my (poor) defence.

Yes, it takes the default installation mq path (which is shown in the above snap C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\ ) to place the .tab file unless I specify it using -t flag.
AFA your defense is concerned..you do good most of the times.
_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jeevan
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1432

shashivarungupta wrote:
exerk wrote:
...hint: "...Copy the AMQCLCHL.TAB file to a location of your choice, to use as a template..."

Its not required in my case, I wanted to have different .TAB Files for each of the clients. Yes copy of AMQCLCHL.TAB file Or any other customized file is required when someone wants to Append the client conn. def in that existing file.
exerk wrote:
EDIT: doh! yes it does, but in the default install path - I plead lack of caffeine in my (poor) defence.

Yes, it takes the default installation mq path (which is shown in the above snap C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\ ) to place the .tab file unless I specify it using -t flag.
AFA your defense is concerned..you do good most of the times.


Or you can read and write the CCDT programmatically, which I am exploring now without success, using perl module: ChannelTable.pm



http://search.cpan.org/~hbiersma/MQSeries-1.29/MQSeries/Config/ChannelTable.pm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9470
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Quote:
...Append the client conn. def in that existing file.

Although I believe I understand what your intent is, WMQ MQSC does not support/implement an APPEND command.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

bruce2359 wrote:
Quote:
...Append the client conn. def in that existing file.

Although I believe I understand what your intent is, WMQ MQSC does not support/implement an APPEND command.

I meant to say.. when someone wants to have multiple client conn. channel definitions (binary) in the same .tab file.

_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

jeevan wrote:
Or you can read and write the CCDT programmatically, which I am exploring now without success, using perl module: ChannelTable.pm
http://search.cpan.org/~hbiersma/MQSeries-1.29/MQSeries/Config/ChannelTable.pm


This is not endorsed by IBM and not guaranteed to work on currently supported or future supported versions of MQ. The format of a CCDT file is proprietary and is unlikely to every be published.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeevan
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1432

gbaddeley wrote:
jeevan wrote:
Or you can read and write the CCDT programmatically, which I am exploring now without success, using perl module: ChannelTable.pm
http://search.cpan.org/~hbiersma/MQSeries-1.29/MQSeries/Config/ChannelTable.pm


This is not endorsed by IBM and not guaranteed to work on currently supported or future supported versions of MQ. The format of a CCDT file is proprietary and is unlikely to every be published.


that is understood. But as I mentioned earlier in this post, it seems we can write/read CCDT using perl module ChannelTable.pm. However I am still struggling installing it. But my point is it can be done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9470
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Quote:
But my point is it can be done.

Of course it can; but you will need to rewrite your code each time the WMQ factory decides to modify the size/shape/contents of the table.

This wheel has already been invented; and it is owned and managed by IBM.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

I don't understand the fuss here, just keep the definitions in source form and use MO72 as a "compiler".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

zpat wrote:
I don't understand the fuss here, just keep the definitions in source form and use MO72 as a "compiler".


As I've noticed in the past with shashivarungupta, if there's a difficult way of doing things, he/she will do it
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Page 3 of 5

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » AMQCLCHL.TAB
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.