Author |
Message
|
pfaulkner |
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 2:52 pm Post subject: quick question about the Output Terminal on a node. |
|
|
Master
Joined: 18 Mar 2002 Posts: 241 Location: Colorado, USA
|
If I wire two different paths to a single output node do they each receive identical copies of message or is one of the paths dependent on what the other path changes depending on which one is executed first?
Same question for Flow Order, does First and Second have the same copy of the message?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 6:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
pfaulkner wrote: |
If I wire two different paths to a single output node do they each receive identical copies of message or is one of the paths dependent on what the other path changes depending on which one is executed first?
|
It Depends on your message flow. For example,
A node will receive identical copies of the messages if both the paths originate from single source and you do only lookup in each path.
Let's say there is a compute node in first path, which modifies the input message; in this case the messages received by this node will not be identical.
pfaulkner wrote: |
Same question for Flow Order, does First and Second have the same copy of the message?
|
Yes. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pfaulkner |
Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 18 Mar 2002 Posts: 241 Location: Colorado, USA
|
what if I change the MQMD on one path. I am setting expiry on all reply messages I send back but wanted to ensure I never set it by mistake for any request messages. My error routine has an output node followed by a compute node. Then the output from this compute node has two paths, one that handles sending a reply msg back to the client with the error and the other copies the original message and tags on the error stuff to store else where. The reply message sets the mqmd.expiry but the other copy of the msg does not. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yaakovd |
Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 Posts: 319 Location: Israel
|
I am sure if you will send the second message to some output Q directly, you will get correct data.
Somewhere you remove or change MQMD after splitting. May be you copy message body and not entire message.
Anyway Flow Order node and duplicated connectors create identical copies of the messages. _________________ Best regards.
Yaakov
SWG, IBM Commerce, Israel |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pfaulkner |
Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 18 Mar 2002 Posts: 241 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Decided I should test this out.
Here are the results for anyone who cares.
I set up 2 tests, the first connecting 2 paths to the same output node and the second using the Flow Order Node. The test results were identical for both except of course the first test followed the 2 paths in random order where as the Flow Order determines the order.
In each path I set:
OutputRoot.MQMD.Expiry
Environment.abc
OutputRoot.BLOB.BLOB
In both tests, the MQMD.Expiry and OutputRoot.BLOB.BLOB were reset to the original values at the start of each path and the Environment.abc kept it's value. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yaakovd |
Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 Posts: 319 Location: Israel
|
Of course...
Now use your regular flow and move output node step by step and find where you change MQMD. _________________ Best regards.
Yaakov
SWG, IBM Commerce, Israel |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|