ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » not able to execute postcard script

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 not able to execute postcard script « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
vandi
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:32 pm    Post subject: not able to execute postcard script Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 67

Hi Guys,

We have installed MQ ver 7.0 on solaris box and are trying to do a verification test using postcard application.
As per the quick beginnings guide, we have set the required environment variables too.
But when we execute the postcard script we are getting the below error message.

Quote:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/ibm/mq/jms/postcard/JmsPcManager
The JRE has returned 1.



On other solaris box with MQ ver 7.0, when I execute postcard script, I am getting the below error

Quote:
No X11 DISPLAY variable was set, but this program performed an operation which requires it.
at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.checkHeadless(GraphicsEnvironment.java:159)
at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:317)
at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:419)
at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:384)
at javax.swing.JFrame.<init>(JFrame.java:150)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.dialog.swing.PcSignOn.displaySignOnFrame(PcSignOn.java:253)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.dialog.swing.PcSignOn.open(PcSignOn.java:228)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.uiloader.PcSignOnManager.handleSignOnWizard(PcSignOnManager.java:145)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.uiloader.PcSignOnManager.main(PcSignOnManager.java:685)


I am not a java resource. Please let me know how to proceed further.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

You need to set up a graphic terminal server for your solaris box. This is also called an X11 server as it uses this protocol. This is usually the PC that initiated the putty or telnet session.

To set the variable use
Code:
DISPLAY=mypchostnameorip:0
export DISPLAY


Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

And the first error is caused by not having the correct JAR file on your classpath.

I dont know where this class is (as I dont have MQ 7) but as a guess i'd start with com.ibm.mqjms.jar under the MQinstallation (someone please feel free to correct me on this!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vandi
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 67

fjb_saper wrote:
You need to set up a graphic terminal server for your solaris box. This is also called an X11 server as it uses this protocol. This is usually the PC that initiated the putty or telnet session.

To set the variable use
Code:
DISPLAY=mypchostnameorip:0
export DISPLAY




I have set the DISPLAY variable as suggested. Now when I run the postcard script, its not displaying anything.
Quote:

$ ./postcard
$



Pls guide me on how to proceed.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vandi
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 67

Does my local pc need to have any java files installed to get the postcard gui window displayed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vandi
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 67

Do we need to set DISPLAY variable on AIX also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

vandi wrote:
Do we need to set DISPLAY variable on AIX also?

for java graphical display you do.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

vandi wrote:
Does my local pc need to have any java files installed to get the postcard gui window displayed?

No you do not need any jar files. You do however need to run the X11 server and it needs to be reachable from the Unix/Linux machine...

The easy way to test this is to ping your pc from the Unix machine.

If this works and your display variable is set, verify your X11 server is running on your pc then run
Code:
xterm &
on the server. A graphical command window for the Unix server should popup on your pc. You can further verify the graphical capability by running a utility like xeyes.

If you set up putty right you can tunnel X11 over ssh.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

or most ssh command line clients support -x to tunnel XWindows and set DISPLAY for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris boehnke
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 369

Quote:
You do however need to run the X11 server and it needs to be reachable from the Unix/Linux machine...


Is it same for AIX machine also?


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Yes it is.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » not able to execute postcard script
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.