ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » How to get a character's ascii value in MB

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to get a character's ascii value in MB « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
SANTYP
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:39 am    Post subject: How to get a character's ascii value in MB Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 142

HI all,
I have a value : 'PIT000' I need to increment this value i.e. PIT001, PIT002, etc until PIT999, the next step is: once you reach PIT999, the value needs to change to PIU000!!"


Plaese respond ASAP ,
Thanks in Advance..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:16 am    Post subject: Re: How to get a character's ascii value in MB Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

SANTYP wrote:
I have a value : 'PIT000' I need to increment this value i.e. PIT001, PIT002, etc until PIT999, the next step is: once you reach PIT999, the value needs to change to PIU000!!"


I suspect you'll need to write some custom code for that.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SANTYP
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:46 am    Post subject: Re: How to get a character's ascii value in MB Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 142

Vitor wrote:
SANTYP wrote:
I have a value : 'PIT000' I need to increment this value i.e. PIT001, PIT002, etc until PIT999, the next step is: once you reach PIT999, the value needs to change to PIU000!!"


I suspect you'll need to write some custom code for that.


Could you suggest me how can I go for that..?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:03 am    Post subject: Re: How to get a character's ascii value in MB Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

SANTYP wrote:
Could you suggest me how can I go for that..?


Produce a custom function in the language of your choice.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Cast it to an unsigned integer and add 1? Determine the allowed range bytetwise as to when to go to the next byte? Determine the low value for each of the bytes.... Well it gets more and more complicated... You might as well attack the problem as a byte array and fix it byte by byte + overflow...

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ggriffith
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Posts: 67

I'd split the field up and use some basic ESQL functions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » How to get a character's ascii value in MB
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.