Author |
Message
|
skoesters |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:22 am Post subject: channel inactiv without reason - timeout? |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
Hi,
i searched the docs and the properties of my channel but found nothing helpfull.
i have a sender channel which gets inactive after some time (i think because of not using the channel ).
Maybe there is a timeout after the channel gets inactive (when no data flows)?
i would like to keep the channel active all the time also when there is data flow.
Is it possible to keep the channel alive all the time?
Thanks!
regards
Sebastian |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
obriencm |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 31 Jan 2002 Posts: 64 Location: Ireland
|
Hi there,
Within the channel paramaters there is one called: DISCINT this is the dis connect interval. if you set this to 0 then the channel will stay running once it has been started and will not time out. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
While the above post is true, you need to fully understand the implications of setting DISCINT to 0.
It would be far better to trigger the transmission queue than to set the DISCINT to 0 unless you have an application that really can't wait for the channel start via a trigger.
Despite your comment, all this is documented thoroughly in the Intercommunication Guide |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
obriencm |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 31 Jan 2002 Posts: 64 Location: Ireland
|
Indeed it may not always suit to have the discint set to 0, I was just suggesting a way to have the channel continue running. In my situation here we leave the channels running and through our monitoring of them, if we see one stop we know there is an issue somewhere, as such we usually spot network related problems before the network team.
Each solution needs to be tailored to the situation in your organisation. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skoesters |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
thanks. that was the option i searched for |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skoesters |
Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
i now switchend from 6000 to 0 but nothing changed. After some time the channel gets inactive and when i send a message it gets active again.
any idea? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Have you triggered the transmission queue?
It is behaving exactly as it should. You need to trigger the transmission queue to start the channel when a message hits the XMITQ. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
what value have you specified in heartbeat interval ??? _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skoesters |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
yes, i trggered the transmission queue
Code: |
QUEUE(TRANSMISSION.QUEUE) TYPE(QLOCAL)
ACCTQ(QMGR) ALTDATE(2008-06-17)
ALTTIME(14.24.41) BOQNAME( )
BOTHRESH(0) CLUSNL( )
CLUSTER( ) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) CLWLUSEQ(QMGR)
CRDATE(2008-06-13) CRTIME(12.00.51)
CURDEPTH(0) DEFBIND(OPEN)
DEFPRTY(0) DEFPSIST(NO)
DEFSOPT(SHARED) DEFTYPE(PREDEFINED)
DESCR( ) DISTL(YES)
GET(ENABLED) HARDENBO
INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) IPPROCS(0)
MAXDEPTH(5000) MAXMSGL(4194304)
MONQ(QMGR) MSGDLVSQ(PRIORITY)
TRIGGER NPMCLASS(NORMAL)
OPPROCS(0) PROCESS( )
PUT(ENABLED) QDEPTHHI(80)
QDEPTHLO(20) QDPHIEV(DISABLED)
QDPLOEV(DISABLED) QDPMAXEV(ENABLED)
QSVCIEV(NONE) QSVCINT(999999999)
RETINTVL(999999999) SCOPE(QMGR)
SHARE STATQ(QMGR)
TRIGDATA(TEST.CHANNEL) TRIGDPTH(1)
TRIGMPRI(0) TRIGTYPE(FIRST)
USAGE(XMITQ)
|
this is my sender channel
Code: |
CHANNEL(TEST.CHANNEL) CHLTYPE(SDR)
ALTDATE(2008-06-17) ALTTIME(14.24.04)
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHSZ(50) COMPHDR(NONE)
COMPMSG(NONE) CONNAME(10.10.100.159)
CONVERT(NO) DESCR( )
DISCINT(0) HBINT(300)
KAINT(AUTO) LOCLADDR( )
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
MAXMSGL(4194304) MCANAME( )
MCATYPE(PROCESS) MCAUSER( )
MODENAME( ) MONCHL(QMGR)
MSGDATA( ) MSGEXIT( )
NPMSPEED(FAST) PASSWORD( )
RCVDATA( ) RCVEXIT( )
SCYDATA( ) SCYEXIT( )
SENDDATA( ) SENDEXIT( )
SEQWRAP(999999999) SHORTRTY(10)
SHORTTMR(60) SSLCIPH( )
SSLPEER( ) STATCHL(QMGR)
TPNAME( ) TRPTYPE(TCP)
USERID( ) XMITQ(TRANSMISSION.QUEUE)
|
Heratbeat interval is 300
the trggering works fine, but i dont want the channel to go down if there is no data sending. It should stay up alle the time. i thought with setting DISCINT to 0 this would work.
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
remove triggering...
set discint
restart channels.... QM if need be..
and ur channels wont go down..
PS: keeping channels active all the time is a resource consuming act... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skoesters |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
AkankshA wrote: |
remove triggering...
set discint
restart channels.... QM if need be..
and ur channels wont go down..
PS: keeping channels active all the time is a resource consuming act... |
"set discint" to what? 0 >0 ?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skoesters |
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 73
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|