ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » SOLVED: Defining two queue managers on one ip address

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 SOLVED: Defining two queue managers on one ip address « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:38 am    Post subject: SOLVED: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

I am trying to define two queue managers with 2 queues and listeners on one machine. The first qm uses a listener on port 1414 and the second is using port 2187. The first listener starts running fine but the second always trys to use port 1414 even though I specify a different port. Is there a different way to define a port for the second listener to use?

It works fine using runmqlsr except that it is a blocking call and I cannot end the listener with endmqlsr and I have to kill -9 the process.
Code:

runmqsc test
define listener (test.listener) trptype(tcp) control(qmgr) port(1414) replace
start listener
end

Code:

runmqsc test2
define listener (test2.listener) trptype(tcp) control(qmgr) port(2187) replace
start listener
end


Last edited by mquser925 on Thu May 08, 2008 6:23 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AkankshA
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:44 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1494
Location: Singapore

mquser925 wrote:
I am trying to define two queue managers with 2 queues and listeners on one machine. The first qm uses a listener on port 1414 and the second is using port 2187. The first listener starts running fine but the second always trys to use port 1414 even though I specify a different port. Is there a different way to define a port for the second listener to use?


How did u find that ???
doe it not start when u execute start listener


using netstat -an command make sure that the port you are trying to use is not in use already
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:52 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

Quote:

How did u find that ???
doe it not start when u execute start listener


using netstat -an command make sure that the port you are trying to use is not in use already


I defined test2 on its own to use port 2187 and the listener started running on port 1414. I did test that the port is open with netstat.

I got runmqlsr to work but is there any advantage to defining a listener and starting it through runmqsc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:56 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mquser925 wrote:

I defined test2 on its own to use port 2187 and the listener started running on port 1414. I did test that the port is open with netstat.


Well that's impossible. If the listener of the 1st queue manager has port 1414 open (and netstat will show that) then anything else trying to use it will get a TCP/IP error "Address In Use"

mquser925 wrote:
I got runmqlsr to work but is there any advantage to defining a listener and starting it through runmqsc?


Defining it as an object is the new, shiny method and simplifies administration. What version of WMQ are you using? You might need some maintenance applied.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:59 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

Vitor wrote:
mquser925 wrote:

I defined test2 on its own to use port 2187 and the listener started running on port 1414. I did test that the port is open with netstat.


Well that's impossible. If the listener of the 1st queue manager has port 1414 open (and netstat will show that) then anything else trying to use it will get a TCP/IP error "Address In Use"

mquser925 wrote:
I got runmqlsr to work but is there any advantage to defining a listener and starting it through runmqsc?


Defining it as an object is the new, shiny method and simplifies administration. What version of WMQ are you using? You might need some maintenance applied.


No, I mean I deleted QM1 and tried defining QM2 on its own. Version 6.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 3:09 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mquser925 wrote:
No, I mean I deleted QM1 and tried defining QM2 on its own. Version 6.0


If you mean plain WMQv6 then you do need maintenance.

The runmqsc script you quote works on my WMQv6.0.2.1 queue manager (though I don't put a space in the middle of runmqsc!)
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AkankshA
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1494
Location: Singapore

Quote:
No, I mean I deleted QM1 and tried defining QM2 on its own.


are we not talking about test and test2 queue managers...

do u mean u deleted test... ??
_________________
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 3:25 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2607
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

Vitor wrote:

The runmqsc script you quote works on my WMQv6.0.2.1 queue manager (though I don't put a space in the middle of runmqsc!)


well just maybe...

both scripts never ran because of this and listener one just started with the default... (just a guess...)
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

Yes I deleted test.

The runmqsc is a typo on the forum.

I am using version 6.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mquser925 wrote:
I am using version 6.0.1


Upgrade.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 4:33 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

Vitor wrote:


If you mean plain WMQv6 then you do need maintenance.


When do you mean when you say I need maintenance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 5:29 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mquser925 wrote:
When do you mean


As soon as you like.....

I mean you should be on 6.0.2 at least.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 5:46 am    Post subject: Re: Defining two queue managers on one ip address Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

mquser925 wrote:
.
Code:

runmqsc test
define listener (test.listener) trptype(tcp) control(qmgr) port(1414) replace
start listener
end

Code:

runmqsc test2
define listener (test2.listener) trptype(tcp) control(qmgr) port(2187) replace
start listener
end


And what prey makes you believe you are starting the right listener?

Try start listener(test2.listener) !
Read the commands manual runmqsc part
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mquser925
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 61

That was it! Thanks. I was going by the syntax in the runmqsc help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » SOLVED: Defining two queue managers on one ip address
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.