ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Orphaned Open handles to Queues on remote QueueManager

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Orphaned Open handles to Queues on remote QueueManager « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
thestig
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:34 pm    Post subject: Orphaned Open handles to Queues on remote QueueManager Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 2

HI hope im posting this the correct place.
I have written a short program using the java MQ API that reads a message from some queues on a remote Queue Manager and puts another message on an some output queues on the same remote Queue Manager.

I noticed that if my network cable becomes unpluged. I still see, through MQ explorer, that my machine has an open handles to the queues I am using. more importantly it only seems to affect the queues that i open for output and not the ones for input. Is this because of how access the queues?

I open the input queues using mqopen options
openOption= MQC.MQOO_INQUIRE | MQC.MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF|MQC.MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING ;

and the output ones using
openOption = MQC.MQOO_OUTPUT | MQC.MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING;

are my open options to blame?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gaya3
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 2493
Location: Boston, US

There is an attribute called TCPKeepAlive. please set this at MQ Server Level.

Regards
Gayathri
_________________
Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thestig
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 2

Thanks for the reply
but doesn't the TCPKeepAlive attribute cause the channel to go down?(it's a server connection channel I'm using by the way).
I dont want that. I just want that connection to be closed and not count as one of the open handles.

In any case is there any way I can set that value programatically?
I think the reason I dont have the problem with the input queues is because When I do my GETS I use a wait interval maybe i can do something similar when i do PUTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

thestig wrote:
In any case is there any way I can set that value programatically?
I think the reason I dont have the problem with the input queues is because When I do my GETS I use a wait interval maybe i can do something similar when i do PUTS


Handles are controlled by the OPEN, not the GET or PUT, and the connection to the queue manager (logically enough) is controlled by the CONN call.

Also logically, you can't specify a wait interval on a put because it happens instantly or it doesn't work. The wait interval you mention is the period of time the get calls waits for a message, not how long it waits for the connection to return (which AFAIK it can't see).

Be sure your code is catching 2009 & 2019 errors being returned from any of the MQ calls and disconnects as a response. There's nothing you can do from the application to affect the server (because at this point the network is unpluged and comms are lost) so you need to ensure the SVRCONN is set correctly to detect this loss.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WingCommanderBadger
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:30 am    Post subject: TCP KeepAlive Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 32
Location: London, UK

Don't forget that the actual config for the TCP KeepAlive settings are made at the O/S level. If I remember correctly, these values are much easier to change on Linux/Unix than on Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

thestig wrote:
Thanks for the reply
but doesn't the TCPKeepAlive attribute cause the channel to go down?(it's a server connection channel I'm using by the way).
I dont want that. I just want that connection to be closed and not count as one of the open handles.


Keep Alive won't touch live channels.

ClientIdle will kill live but inactive channels.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Orphaned Open handles to Queues on remote QueueManager
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.