Author |
Message
|
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:29 am Post subject: location of message |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
Hello All,
I am working on a simple message flow(mqinput-->mqoutput)
In the mqoutput node basic properties, I did not give the queue name and did not wire catch and failure terminals. where can I see the output message. _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Depending on transactionality & persistence, either rolling back & rolling forward on the input queue (possibly so fast you can't see it), the backout queue (if specified) or lost to the electronic void.
Wire up the catch & failure terminals and see if it pops up. Or specify a valid put destination. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
If I am keeping transaction mode to yes and automatic and input message to be persistent or non persistent, I cant see the message in the dead letter queue. where can I see the message if I am going to set transaction mode to yes or automatic.
if transaction mode is set to "no" or automatic, then error message in event viewer looks like this:
( BRK.process1 ) Unable to open queue '''' on WebSphere MQ queue manager '''': completion code 2; reason code 2085.
A message flow node failed to open the indicated WebSphere MQ message queue. The error codes relate to the MQOPEN call.
Check the WebSphere MQ completion and reason codes in the WebSphere MQ Application Programming Reference manual to establish the cause of the error, taking any appropriate action. It may be necessary to restart the message broker after you have performed this recovery action. If the open failed because the queue manager or queue did not exist, define these objects to WebSphere MQ. If the failure of the open was because incorrect object names were specified, correct the message flow configuration and attempt to redeploy the message broker. _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mrgate wrote: |
If I am keeping transaction mode to yes and automatic and input message to be persistent or non persistent, I cant see the message in the dead letter queue. |
Why would it go to the DLQ?
mrgate wrote: |
where can I see the message if I am going to set transaction mode to yes or automatic. |
Depends on persistence.
mrgate wrote: |
if transaction mode is set to "no" or automatic, then error message in event viewer looks like this:
( BRK.process1 ) Unable to open queue '''' on WebSphere MQ queue manager '''': completion code 2; reason code 2085.
|
You should get that irrespective _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
Vitor wrote: |
mrgate wrote: |
where can I see the message if I am going to set transaction mode to yes or automatic. |
Depends on persistence.
|
I have tested message flow for both persistence and non persistence but I could not see the resultant message . _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Why not use the best practice of wiring up all of the output terminals to see where the message goes? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
bower5932 wrote: |
Why not use the best practice of wiring up all of the output terminals to see where the message goes? |
If at all I am going to wire the terminals, I can see the perfect result, but in this case, I dont want to wire the terminal(failure) and see the resultant message. _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mrgate wrote: |
bower5932 wrote: |
Why not use the best practice of wiring up all of the output terminals to see where the message goes? |
If at all I am going to wire the terminals, I can see the perfect result, but in this case, I dont want to wire the terminal(failure) and see the resultant message. |
Then you need to take steps to handle the message in the absense of wired terminals. You make the decision not to wire them, you need to do something in their place.
What you do is dictated by your design preference, constraints and why you think best practice is a bad idea. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need to go back to the documentation and review the steps.
You need to make sure that you are not relying on the queue DEFPSIST to set Persistence on the message, if you don't know for sure that your application that is sending the message is using the default persistence. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You need to go back to the documentation and review the steps.
You need to make sure that you are not relying on the queue DEFPSIST to set Persistence on the message, if you don't know for sure that your application that is sending the message is using the default persistence. |
Thanks Jeoff,
I got the documentation pdfs from my colleague and got the complete idea about these properties. _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
Even I have worked on different cases in the documentations and got absolute results. _________________ MQSeries terrorist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Links to the MQ and Broker Information center are all over most threads on this website.
You should always be aware that the "documentation PDFS" you get may not be up to date.
The InfoCenter is frequently updated and PDFs on the website are not as frequently updated. And PDFs that you got from your colleague may have been downloaded two years ago... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|