Author |
Message
|
Bahan |
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:57 pm Post subject: [WMQ 6.0] Queue full and filesystem full |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 47 Location: France
|
Hi everyone.
I encountered a little problem today which is the following : my filesystem /var/mqm is full because of a queue which is full (I think ^_^).
Code: |
/dev/lv_mqsqmgr 65536 44 100% 175 67% /var/mqm |
So I wanted to empty this queue, but the queue manager was stopped and it is not possible to start it cause its filesystem is full .
Code: |
$ strmqm <MyQM>
WebSphere MQ queue manager '<MyQM>' starting.
The Queue Manager ended for reason 2341881233685872640 ''
|
When I look to the arborescence, I found my problem there :
Code: |
/var/mqm/qmgrs/<MyQM>/queues/ |
I did a little 'du -ks *' and I saw the following result :
Does anyone knows how to empty this queue without running the queue manager ? What can I do to resolve this problem ?
Thank you a lot for your answers.
Regards.
Bahan _________________ Close the world.||.txen eht nepO |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
What Unix are you on? Can you temporally add more space to that file system?
If you're on linear logging you could try removing old files.
It's really one of those situations where prevention is better than cure. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sidharth_bora |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 87
|
Are u using the linear log or circular. if linear, check the /var/mqm/log/QM/active , compress, housekeep the not required log, i believe this is the one occupying most of the space
if circular , tar the /var/mqm/qmgrs/qmgr/queues to some other directory. also for safety take saveqmgrbkup, also pthe qm.ini file
mv the queue taking most of the space to some back up
start the QM.
restore the bkup after ensuring you have quite a space, ask sys admin to add some space, if required.
restart the QM to take effect
regds
Sid |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sidharth_bora |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 87
|
sorry vitor,
i didnt see your reply... probably we were typing at the same time.
regds
Sid |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bahan |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 47 Location: France
|
Hi again.
Yup, we will try this solution of adding some space temporarily.
Then we will start the queue manager and then clear the queue.
Thanks to both of you.
Bahan _________________ Close the world.||.txen eht nepO |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
The key to this is planning space usage. If you're short of file sapce, make sure max depth is set to prevent messages being added to a queue if it's going to cause this problem.
Also have the logs on a separate device to the queues. This is not only best practice against failure, but allows the space requirement to be split. Remember circular logs are fully allocated at first use so they don't grow & hence can be left somewhere to their own devices. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Vitor wrote: |
The key to this is planning space usage. If you're short of file sapce, make sure max depth is set to prevent messages being added to a queue if it's going to cause this problem.
Also have the logs on a separate device to the queues. This is not only best practice against failure, but allows the space requirement to be split. Remember circular logs are fully allocated at first use so they don't grow & hence can be left somewhere to their own devices. |
Vitor should have specified here the circular PRIMARY logs are fully allocated and will not grow.
Circular SECONDARY logs are fully allocated at first use but will grow a file system as they are created as needed...
Just a little precision...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
The key to this is planning space usage. If you're short of file sapce, make sure max depth is set to prevent messages being added to a queue if it's going to cause this problem.
Also have the logs on a separate device to the queues. This is not only best practice against failure, but allows the space requirement to be split. Remember circular logs are fully allocated at first use so they don't grow & hence can be left somewhere to their own devices. |
Vitor should have specified here the circular PRIMARY logs are fully allocated and will not grow.
Circular SECONDARY logs are fully allocated at first use but will grow a file system as they are created as needed...
Just a little precision...  |
I consider myself justly sharpened.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|