Author |
Message
|
tlmills |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:50 am Post subject: .NET 5.3 Client with 5.1 Server |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2
|
Hi,
I'm working on a new .NET client application that needs to interface with a server running MQSeries 5.1. An existing VB6 client app is successfully using the 5.2 client library with this server. I am having intermittent difficulties putting things in the queue using the 5.3 .NET client library. I am wondering: is this (5.3 client, 5.1 server) something that should work, or do I need to use a 5.2 (or 5.1) client library and provide my own interop to .NET?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You shouldn't be using v5.1 of anything.
It's completely unsupported.
You need to upgrade that server, stat, to at least v5.3 CSD13. Preferrably to v6.0.2.1.
v6 of MQ has been out for roughly two years now. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:04 am Post subject: Re: .NET 5.3 Client with 5.1 Server |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
tlmills wrote: |
I'm working on a new .NET client application that needs to interface with a server running MQSeries 5.1. |
Whoever's still using v5.1 is insane. It's hideously old, clunky and just contact admin. They should join the rest of us in the 21st Century (or at least the late 20th!)
tlmills wrote: |
I am wondering: is this (5.3 client, 5.1 server) something that should work, or do I need to use a 5.2 (or 5.1) client library and provide my own interop to .NET? |
IIRC .NET support was new in v5.3 (I don't think it existed when v5.2 was out) so you'd need to break out and use the C API via the client. This is such a bad thing to do, but it ought to work. Drive a coach and horses through the .NET model and any threading problems you get are yours to solve but it ought to work.
Again, I accept no liability if it doesn't
Upgrade the queue manager to v.5.3 at least, and use the .NET libraries provided. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tlmills |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2
|
I know I shouldn't be using v5.1 of anything, but that is beyond my control. Interfacing with that server is one of the requirements of my new application.
So I'm just wondering if is *should* work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
tlmills wrote: |
I know I shouldn't be using v5.1 of anything, but that is beyond my control. Interfacing with that server is one of the requirements of my new application. |
You shouldn't be working with anyone who thinks using v5.1 is a good idea. Unless they're paying a lot of danger money and providing rehab when you've finished. To employ a quote, "Run away, run away!"
tlmills wrote: |
So I'm just wondering if is *should* work. |
If you're asking if it "should" work, i.e. if IBM and the rest of us this is something that will go, the answer is no. The .NET technology is newer than the technology you're using so it fits where it touches and breaks where it doesn't.
If you break out into the C API as I, I'll use the word suggested for want of a better one, then it *might* work. Even if it did, I'd hesitate to rely on it in a stressed production environment. Or any production environment - "unsupported" is too small a word for such a monster.
But then these people think v5.1 is a good idea so that's unlikely to bother them!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I would, at least, use the v6 *client*, and the v6 .NET API.
The v5.3 .NET implementation had some issues, particularly in earlier releases.
Also - can you be specific about the errors you're getting?
Also, the version of MQ on that server may not be under your control. But that doesn't mean you have to talk to that v5.1 qmgr directly. You can talk to a v6 qmgr, that talks to that v5.1 qmgr on your behalf. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You can talk to a v6 qmgr, that talks to that v5.1 qmgr on your behalf. |
Workable, but potentially expensive depending on the client's license deal!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Vitor wrote: |
jefflowrey wrote: |
You can talk to a v6 qmgr, that talks to that v5.1 qmgr on your behalf. |
Workable, but potentially expensive depending on the client's license deal!  |
I hope it's actually more expensive than upgrading. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Philip Morten |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 07 Mar 2002 Posts: 230 Location: Hursley Park
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Well, then the v5.3 client should be able to connect to those just fine. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ourtown |
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 05 Feb 2002 Posts: 67 Location: Somerset, NJ
|
Well no - back level clients work with higher level servers - the other way usually fails _________________ Brian S. Crabtree
WBI Consultant |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|