Author |
Message
|
kag |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:25 pm Post subject: Cluster queue |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Mar 2007 Posts: 10
|
Hi,
Is there any way my application can put message to a cluster queue if queue manager to which my application connected is down.
Thanks
Raghu |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Your application can't put any messages to any queue manager if the queue manager to which it is connected is DOWN.
It can't GET any messages either.
You can't insert rows into a database, if the database server is down, right? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
If there is one and only one qmgr on the platform (operating system instance) where your application is running, then no.
If there is another qmgr running, the application would first receive a completion code/reason code "qmgr not available" from the dead qmgr; then MQCONN to the remaining qmgr, then do the MQPUT. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
then MQCONN to the remaining qmgr, then do the MQPUT. |
But then the qmgr that the application was connected to would not be down!
And it wouldn't matter if the other qmgr was on the same "platform", "operating system instance", physical hardware, or etc.
An application can do absolutely no MQ work against a qmgr that is not running.
A client application should be designed to EITHER connect to another qmgr OR throw a fatal error and give up when it determines (correctly or not) that it's primary qmgr is unavailable.
Which one of those two it does depends ENTIRELY on the business requirements. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
Of course, you are right: you can't connect to a dead qmgr.
But, I wanted to give kag more than a simple yes or no answer. I felt that offering some kind of solution/explanation might help kag's understanding of things MQ. Mea culpa. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kag |
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Mar 2007 Posts: 10
|
Thanks, it was just what i was looking for. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Given the information that was presented, I did not feel qualified to give a more complete answer. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|