Author |
Message
|
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:57 am Post subject: what dia I INSTALL when installing Java Messaging ? |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
I have had MQ version 5.3 for some time.
Now, I am installing "Java Messaging",
that is required by some JMS connection.
.
I can see the new files I have just installed,
but I would like to know, in term of "logic",
WHAT DID I INSTALL ?
.
I mean, what elements (services ?)
do I have now in my machine
that were not available before ?
.
ThanX ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You mainly have a set of jar files and libs in the <MQ_Install>/java folder.
And possibly some new samples in samples directory. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Yes, I see (very) few new files in \java\bin directory
and a lot of new files in \java\lib directory ...
.
My question is ... WHO is going to use them ?
.
HOW ?
.
WHAT FOR ?
.
( you can see I am new to Java access to MQ ) ...
any pointer is (very) welcome !!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Um.
These are the files that provide all of the support needed to use MQ from Java.
Anyone who uses Java and tries to access MQ will use at least some of these files.
The How is through use of the "import" statement in Java, and through the JVMs classloader. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
If you want to write a java program that sends or receives msessages, your would import the jms or base mq definitons and use those classes. There is an entire book on using java with MQ and, as Jeff mentions, samples under .../samp/java _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
You mean those files will be used by LOCAL program,
written in Java,
to acces the local MQ ?
.
What about remote systems ?
I am reading a (remote) Domino will access my MQ
(within a Message Broker)
using JMS ...
.
The "transport" is still "OLS-fashion" MQ, isn't it ?
.
The Java part comes from the access bridge from Domino
into the Lotus Note's machines MQ, am I right ?
.
Cheers !!!
. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Depending on how you "use" the interface, the bindings can either be remote (ie, think MQ client) or local (ie, java program on the same server as the qmgr).
Yeah, whether you use base MQ classes or JMS classes, its "real" MQ under the covers. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Thanks, "wschutz" ...
I do have the "Using Java" book ... csqzag05.pdf, SC34-6066-02 ...
But I am missing the "overall" picture,
not the programming details ...
Cheers ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Yes, I understand there can be a "remote" access,
using the Client,
but the Queue Manager is still the same ...
.
I have doubts about the "remote" systems,
that say the speak "JMS",
and I only know the old "C" api ...
.
and I am looking for the diferences, obviously )
. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
The overall picture is that the Java API provides the same access to MQ that all of the other APIs - C, C++, .NET, Perl, COBOL, etc. - provide.
If you have a Domino server, running Java code to access MQ, then the domino server will need to either have an MQ Server installed or (preferablly) the MQ Client. You can get away with just moving certain jar files to get a client connection... but it probably won't be supported by IBM that way.
Then the Domino server will call the Java code, which will access MQ and open a connection to a qmgr, open a queue, put or get messages, and then close everything when it's done. Just like any other MQ program.
The Domino server may need some bridging software in order to call Java code, but that is not related to the MQ part of this picture. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
As well if your Domino Server does J2EE you should use JMS.
Using JMS is like using the base java but through a different API.
JMS enables a provider neutral approach to java Messaging.
Enjoy
P.S. you don't need a J2EE server to use JMS. All the necessary jar's are provided by IBM in the MQ package. You might however want to use the sun provided simple File JNDI if using JMS in a stand alone mode. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
.
OK - if it's a diferent way to acces the same messaging,
it is ok for me ...
.
Any pointer to a short and easy and simple
code sample that does the typical ...
.
a) Connect() to a Queue Manager
b) Open() a Destination/Target Queue
c) Write() a message into the queue
d) Close() the queue
e) Disconnect() from the Queue Manager
.
???
Just to see the "environment" .. the "import" ....
.
Thanks for your time and patience !
And Best Wishes for the 2006, from Spain !!!
. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Look "in" the Using Java "manual". There will be a "sample" program that does what "you" are specifying.
The Documentation link at the top of the page will take you there. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Yes, you are right (again).
The samples begin at page 70 (!!!)
Thanks to all of you !
I realy appreciated the support !! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Remember as well if you try to run some of the JMS samples that you will need to run JMSAdmin first and create the relevant file Context before the sample will work.
Hint: create the context with type *FileContext first (its the easiest to master) and if that works well for you, you may graduate to other contexts.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|