Author |
Message
|
KeeferG |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 215 Location: Basingstoke, UK
|
Yes, A few changes to clustering in V6. Enough for me to force/push/promote an upgrade from V5.3 to all our install base.
Which is nice.  _________________ Keith Guttridge
-----------------
Using MQ since 1995 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
olan022 |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 50
|
Actually, now that I think this through, Cluster Workload Balancing (CLWLUSEQ) won't help me because despite the fact that I've set the CLWLUSEQ on the queue itself, I'm still dependent on the routing behavior of the Client Channel Configuration file, which will always route me to a "primary" queue manager unless it is not available. Thus, load balancing will not work from the get-go. ugh.
Am I missing something? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
I'm still dependent on the routing behavior of the Client Channel Configuration file, which will always route me to a "primary" queue manager unless it is not available |
What do you want to do here? Have a single client machine alternate between two qmgrs? Or have half of your client machines use one qmgr and half use the other? There are some good techniques for accompishing this.... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
olan022 |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 50
|
Ideally, having a single client machine alternate between two Qmgrs.
MQ Client -> QMGR1 queue Q1
then
MQ Client -> QMGR2 queue Q1
then
MQ Client -> QMGR1 queue Q1
There is only one client machine, not a group of them.
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Easy....
(1) create a channel table with two entries, one for QMGR1 and one for QMGR2 (setting the QMNAME attribute in the clntconn definition)
(2) MQCONN("QMGR1") and MQCONN("QMGR2") getting back two handles
(3) Open Q1 on each qmgr handle
(4) alternate between putting to the two queue handles. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
olan022 |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 50
|
Thanks Wayne. I understand what you are suggesting and it seems to make sense. How would you suggest I best accomplish the simultaneous MQCONN connections in step 2? I have only used programs like amqsputc thus far, so I'm not sure how to do this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
In what language are you writing this program?
Your would simply issue two MQCONN calls with different qmanager names and setting two different qmgr handles. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
olan022 |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 50
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
I have written VB.NET apps that connect to 9 QMs at once.
Just create 2 unique QM objects.
Code: |
Dim myHashTable As New Hashtable
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.HOST_NAME_PROPERTY, TheHostName1)
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.PORT_PROPERTY, ThePort1)
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.CHANNEL_PROPERTY, TheChannelName1)
QM1 = New MQQueueManager(" ", myHashTable)
Dim myHashTable As New Hashtable
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.HOST_NAME_PROPERTY, TheHostName2)
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.PORT_PROPERTY, ThePort2)
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.CHANNEL_PROPERTY, TheChannelName2)
QM2 = New MQQueueManager(" ", myHashTable)
|
_________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
olan022 |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 50
|
Thanks everyone for your help - I'll give this a whirl. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|