Author |
Message
|
pawargmat |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:02 am Post subject: PCF Get inhibit, MQDiable node- Any more? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Feb 2004 Posts: 14
|
I am looking for a way to stop processing of messages from a queue by a message flow when it detects a fatal error. Searching through the site, I have found couple of ways of doing it. But, I can't use them.
- Using PCF command to do a 'get inhibit' - Queue Manager is on Z/OS and I think PCF is not supported (Read somewhere that it will be supported in MQ V6)
- Use MQDisable node from Kolban - We are using WBIMB V5.
Can anybody tell me if there are other ways of doing it! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
Using PCF command to do a 'get inhibit' - Queue Manager is on Z/OS and I think PCF is not supported (Read somewhere that it will be supported in MQ V6) |
Yes, V6 support PCF commands on Zos,
but, with v5.x, you can send a clear text MQSC to the zOS command queue:
"ALTER QL(xxxx) GET(DISABLED)" _________________ -wayne
Last edited by wschutz on Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:17 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Messages containing PCF data are not supported on z/OS for MQ 5.3.
The command server accepts messages containing MQSC text commands, instead of messages containing PCF data.
So you could use an MQOutput node to write "alter queue(<qname>) get(disable)" to the command server input queue.
EDIT:put, get... well, you know.  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Last edited by jefflowrey on Thu Sep 01, 2005 6:41 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
prasadpav |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 142
|
Create a small java static method to call MQ libraries to Get Inhibit the Input queue. If you are above CSD4 V5, you can call this method as external java procedure from compute node to Get Inhibit the input queue. I got this thing working but as per the WMQI documentation says that one should not do any MQ or JMS related stuff in external java methods. Looking forward for comments about this implementation.
or else, create your own java plugin node to get inhibit input queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
Create a small java static method to call MQ libraries to Get Inhibit the Input queue |
Yes, you could do that, but it would seem a lot simplier to wire a compute node to an MQOutput node to generate plain text mqsc.... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
wschutz wrote: |
Yes, you could do that, but it would seem a lot simplier to wire a compute node to an MQOutput node to generate plain text mqsc.... |
But, then, (horrors!) one would have to use ESQL!  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
prasadpav |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 142
|
Quote: |
Yes, you could do that, but it would seem a lot simplier to wire a compute node to an MQOutput node to generate plain text mqsc....
Just for my learning, using RFHUTIL tool on windows XP i tried to put plain text "ALTER QL(TEST_IN) GET(DISABLED) on SYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.QUEUE, but the message is routed to dead letter queue. The reason is 2029. I tried setting MQSTR & MQPCF message formats. Still failed. Any ideas how to get this working correctly?
Thanks |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
Just for my learning, using RFHUTIL tool on windows XP i tried to put plain text "ALTER QL(TEST_IN) GET(DISABLED) on SYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.QUEUE, but the message is routed to dead letter queue. |
I assume you mean you're trying to send a command message to a Windows queue manager? In that case, it MUST be a PCF formatted command, not a clear text command.....
ie....
MQ for zOS v5.x => MQSC clear text only
MQ for zOS v6 => MQSC clear text or PCF format
MQ for windows / unix / iSeries => PCF format only _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nina |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:07 am Post subject: PCF Get inhibit, MQDiable node- Any more? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 11
|
Hi All,
I am new to Message Broker and WMQ. I do have the same requirement to stop the processing of messages if any message fails. Could you please explain how to write PCF message within Compute node to disable get operation of input queue. I gather some info on PCF.
MQCMD_CHANGE_Q -for changing specified attribute of Queue
QName(INPUTQ)
QType(MQQT_LOCAL)
InhibitGet(MQQA_GET_INHIBITED)
I am bit confused while writing ESQL, where to put this code?
Please help me!!
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pat_Vij |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 26 Aug 2005 Posts: 23
|
Why dont you try using panels to alter the queue??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
Why dont you try using panels to alter the queue??? |
I could be wrong, but I think he wants to do this automatically... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nina |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 11
|
Wayne you are right,
I am planning to do it automatically inside Compute node.
Regards,
nina |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|