Author |
Message
|
martinrydman |
Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 9:55 am Post subject: Can't get the mapping node to work |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Hi all!
I'm trying to get even the most simple operation to work in the mapping node (need it for demo pupose, all real-life mapping is still in ESQL )
This is what I try to do: In, a simple MRM structure with 3 fields, TDS, fixed length. Out, a simple XML structure with the same fields.
Add the MRM as Source in a mapping node, add XML as Target. When I drag a field from MRM to XML, I'd expect the field to be mapped, but noo, I get a Create or Use Mapping dialog box instead. Dead-end. What to do?
Any help apreciated.
/Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cicsos2 |
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 3:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 23 May 2001 Posts: 3
|
Martin,
Did you manually define the two message sets or use the importers?
If you used the importer route, can you post the source? _________________ Bill M.
A long time ago - I was ..
IBM Certified Specialist: IT Systems Products,
MQSeries, MQSeries Solutions, MQSI,
MQSI Solutions and Transaction Systems |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
You can't map to/from the XML domain. The mapping tool needs to know what your messages should look like, and only MRM can do this.
By the way, if you're using v5, don't bother mapping before CSD03, I came across 3 seperate bugs within 30 mins of use and haven't bothered with it since. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
martinrydman |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Sorry, the XML message is in the MRM domain, XML physical layer
By the way, MRM/TDS to MRM/TDS seems to work. My problem concerns MRMTDS to MRM/XML
/Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
martinrydman |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Bill,
this is the XML-schema.
Code: |
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- edited with XMLSPY v5 rel. 2 U (http://www.xmlspy.com) by Martin Rydman (Zipper Systems AB) -->
<xs:schema xmlns:xs="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" elementFormDefault="qualified" attributeFormDefault="unqualified">
<xs:element name="Person">
<xs:annotation>
<xs:documentation>Comment describing your root element</xs:documentation>
</xs:annotation>
<xs:complexType>
<xs:sequence>
<xs:element name="Namn"/>
<xs:element name="Adress"/>
<xs:element name="Personnummer"/>
</xs:sequence>
</xs:complexType>
</xs:element>
</xs:schema>
|
/Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
Well, I'm waiting til CSD03 before attempting to use the mapping node, after 20mins use I came up with 3 PMR's:
* Namespaces are not mapped
* Has a problem mapping non-repeating structure to repeating structure, causes sysntax errors in the generated XML mapping descriptor
* Various runtime exceptions while mapping
BTW, I notice you're using XML Spy, there is an excellent xsd editor built-in to WBIMB. Just create a simple file with the xsd extension. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
martinrydman |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
well, old habbits die hard...
I'd be happy to wait, but the purpose of the demo is to illustrate the excellent simplicity of the tool
/Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
Yep, I hoped to demo the same thing, It's an essential part of the WBIMB tooling and a lot more maintainable than piles of ESQL.
I would suggest you persue it with IBM support, and persue it aggressively... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cicsos2 |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 23 May 2001 Posts: 3
|
Martin,
Your schema does not identify the physical type of the fields - and I suspect that is what is confusing the mapping node.
Try this one.
Code: |
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- edited with XMLSPY v5 rel. 2 U (http://www.xmlspy.com) by Martin Rydman (Zipper Systems AB) -->
<xs:schema xmlns:xs="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" elementFormDefault="qualified" attributeFormDefault="unqualified">
<xs:element name="Person">
<xs:annotation>
<xs:documentation>Comment describing your root element</xs:documentation>
</xs:annotation>
<xs:complexType>
<xs:sequence>
<xs:element name="Namn" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element name="Adress" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element name="Personnummer" type="xs:string"/>
</xs:sequence>
</xs:complexType>
</xs:element>
</xs:schema> |
I also heartly recommend that you migrate to CSD2 - there is lots of good stuff there, including significant changes in the mapping support.
With the changes in the schema, my CSD2 system was able to map the target elements. _________________ Bill M.
A long time ago - I was ..
IBM Certified Specialist: IT Systems Products,
MQSeries, MQSeries Solutions, MQSI,
MQSI Solutions and Transaction Systems |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
Bill,
It looks like he posted the xsd that he imported to MRM, not the contents of the mxsd file. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wooda |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Nov 2003 Posts: 265 Location: UK
|
BTW
jrowe wrote
Quote: |
You can't map to/from the XML domain |
This is actually incorrect.
You can define message sets and set the message set property "Runtime Parser" to "XML" (instead of the default "MRM").
Then you can use any messages in that message set in the mapping node and the mappings will be created as if the message were in the XML domain.
The message sets will not be used for parsing (as the XML parser doesn't need message sets) However it does allow you to do mappings to/from XML domain. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
martinrydman |
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Bill,
that was it! Almost logical, once you know it...
Thanks a bunch. I will now dazzle our customer!
BTW, I even mamaged to construct a looped mapping in two levels. When the tool stabilizes and a decent tutorial is provided, this will really be a useful tool, I think.
/Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
owen |
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 1 Location: London, UK
|
Hi,
Thanks for the advice below. I've tried this but I seem to be missing the XML declaration from the top of my output message: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
I've set my Output Message Properties -> Format to XML.
And in the messageSet.mset XML declarations are not suppressed. Is there something else I should set to produce XMLDeclaration automatically? (Currently I have a compute node after creating it...)
cheers
owen
wooda wrote: |
BTW
jrowe wrote
Quote: |
You can't map to/from the XML domain |
This is actually incorrect.
You can define message sets and set the message set property "Runtime Parser" to "XML" (instead of the default "MRM").
Then you can use any messages in that message set in the mapping node and the mappings will be created as if the message were in the XML domain.
The message sets will not be used for parsing (as the XML parser doesn't need message sets) However it does allow you to do mappings to/from XML domain. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|