ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » PCF agent returns error code 2100

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 PCF agent returns error code 2100 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
elledido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:25 am    Post subject: PCF agent returns error code 2100 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Posts: 5

Hello, I have a problem with PCF message agent while inquiring channel in order to obtain informations about hosts connected to a given queue manager. The code of PCFAgent is

Code:

 MQGetMessageOptions getMessageOptions = new MQGetMessageOptions();
 getMessageOptions.options = MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT + MQC.MQGMO_NO_WAIT + MQC.MQGMO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING;
 messageAgent = new PCFMessageAgent(MQEnvironment.hostname, MQEnvironment.port, MQEnvironment.channel);


and code of options is

Code:

inquireOptions = new PCFMessage(CMQCFC.MQCMD_INQUIRE_CHANNEL_STATUS);
            inquireOptions.addParameter(CMQCFC.MQCACH_CHANNEL_NAME, "*");
            inquireOptions.addParameter(CMQCFC.MQIACH_CHANNEL_INSTANCE_TYPE, CMQC.MQOT_CURRENT_CHANNEL);
            inquireOptions.addParameter(CMQCFC.MQIACH_CHANNEL_INSTANCE_ATTRS, new int[]{
                    CMQCFC.MQCACH_CHANNEL_NAME, CMQCFC.MQCACH_CONNECTION_NAME, CMQCFC.MQIACH_MSGS,
                    CMQCFC.MQCACH_LAST_MSG_DATE, CMQCFC.MQCACH_LAST_MSG_TIME, CMQCFC.MQIACH_CHANNEL_STATUS
            });
            responses = messageAgent.send(inquireOptions);
[/code]

Not always, but occasionally the application resturns an exception that says "Completion Code 2, Reason 2100" and my host (the one on which the application is running) leaves a pending connection on the server that is never closed until the MQManager is restarted.

I've read that this exception is due to a conflict in creating dynamic queues, but in my code I don't create any queue.
Someone could help me? Sorry, I've no previous experiences with queue managers.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Please post here the actual and complete error message where you see the r/c 2100.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elledido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Posts: 5

I capture the exception and print the error message, that is

Code:

2020-02-25 08:40:01,523 ERROR ITMICP55 - "server ip address" - Completion Code 2, Reason 2100


I have not a stack trace.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:22 am    Post subject: Re: PCF agent returns error code 2100 Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

elledido wrote:
I've read that this exception is due to a conflict in creating dynamic queues, but in my code I don't create any queue.


If you're not creating any queues, where does the response to the PCF inquiry get delivered?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elledido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Posts: 5

Quote:

If you're not creating any queues, where does the response to the PCF inquiry get delivered?


I don't know exactly. I create a PCFMessage array like

Code:

PCFMessage[] responses = responses = messageAgent.send(options);


to store the responses.

in the "options" there is no explicit reference to a dynamic queue. I have just a channel name, an ip address and a port.
Is it possible that PCFMessageAgent creates diamically an implicit queue?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

elledido wrote:
I capture the exception and print the error message, that is

Code:

2020-02-25 08:40:01,523 ERROR ITMICP55 - "server ip address" - Completion Code 2, Reason 2100


I have not a stack trace.

Thanks

Please post the COMPLETE error, including the name of the object that the r/c 2100 error refers to.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2492
Location: Melbourne, Australia

elledido wrote:
Is it possible that PCFMessageAgent creates diamically an implicit queue?
Thanks

Yes. I have used this class. It is designed to make running PCF commands as easy as possible. No need to specify any queue names. eg. Very simple example of running a MQSC command in Vb.Net :

Code:
Dim MqQmgr As MQQueueManager = New MQQueueManager( MyQmgrName, MqProps )  ' MqProps is a hash table containing client channel name, host, port etc
Dim MqPcfAgent As PCFMessageAgent = New PCFMessageAgent( MqQMgr )
Dim MyPcfRequest As PCFMessage = New PCFMessage(CMQCFC.MQCMD_ESCAPE)
MyPcfRequest.AddParameter(CMQCFC.MQIACF_ESCAPE_TYPE, CMQCFC.MQET_MQSC)
MyPcfRequest.AddParameter(CMQCFC.MQCACF_ESCAPE_TEXT, "display qlocal('MY.QUEUE') all")
Dim MyPcfResponses() As PCFMessage = MyPcfAgent.Send(MyPcfRequest)
...then loop through the MyPcfResponses array

_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:54 pm    Post subject: Re: PCF agent returns error code 2100 Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3252
Location: London, ON Canada

elledido wrote:
Code:
MQGetMessageOptions getMessageOptions = new MQGetMessageOptions();
 getMessageOptions.options = MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT + MQC.MQGMO_NO_WAIT + MQC.MQGMO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING;

Why are you using MQGMO class? Your code is not getting MQMessages.

elledido wrote:
occasionally the application resturns an exception that says "Completion Code 2, Reason 2100" and my host (the one on which the application is running) leaves a pending connection on the server that is never closed until the MQManager is restarted.

That would be bad coding. Programming 101:
- If you open it, then make sure you close it.
- If you connect to it, then make sure you disconnect from it.

Add a finally to your try/catch code and put your disconnect logic in it.
Code:
try
{
}
catch
{
}
finally
{
   if (messageAgent != null)
      messageAgent.disconnect();
}


elledido wrote:
I've read that this exception is due to a conflict in creating dynamic queues, but in my code I don't create any queue.

The send method of the PCFMessageAgent class handles the creation of the temporary dynamic queue. There could be a bug in the code.

What is the exact version (i.e. 9.0.0.4) of the MQ JAR files that you are using?

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

I suspect concurrency and thus matching timestamp in temporary queue name. I wrote an answer on Stack Overflow to say so.

See IMB PCF agent returns error while inquiring channel status

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elledido
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Posts: 5

hughson wrote:
I suspect concurrency and thus matching timestamp in temporary queue name. I wrote an answer on Stack Overflow to say so.

See IMB PCF agent returns error while inquiring channel status

Cheers,
Morag


Thanks a lot Morag! This is very useful. I've just another question, please. What is the difference between
Code:
setReplyQueuePrefix(String prefixP)
and
Code:
setModelQueueName(String prefixP)


Can I use the latter in order to create a unique dynamic queue?

I tried to follow you advice and I created an MD5 digest with a concatenation of some (hope unique) strings and I would to use this digest in order to make a unique dynamic queue. The code could be, for example

Code:

PCFMessageAgent messageAgent = optMessageAgent.get();
String prefix = this.getMD5digest((this.getClass().getName() + "." + this.jobName +"." + new Timestamp(System.currentTimeMillis())));
LOGGER.debug("Prefix = " + prefix);
messageAgent.setReplyQueuePrefix(prefix);
logger.debug("PCFMessageAgent with dynamic queue " + messageAgent.getModelQueueName() + " created");
PCFMessage[] responses = this.inquireChannel(messageAgent);


what I get from the execution of my code is

Code:

2020-02-26 11:48:15 DEBUG MQConnectionsMonitor:81 - Prefix = bd46b443d6e2723e9561e36d8b05d701
2020-02-26 11:48:15 DEBUG MQConnectionsMonitor:83 - PCFMessageAgent with dynamic queue SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE created


I've some doubts about that "SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE", I think there is something wrong.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

elledido wrote:

Can I use the latter in order to create a unique dynamic queue?

I tried to follow you advice and I created an MD5 digest with a concatenation of some (hope unique) strings and I would to use this digest in order to make a unique dynamic queue. The code could be, for example

Code:

PCFMessageAgent messageAgent = optMessageAgent.get();
String prefix = this.getMD5digest((this.getClass().getName() + "." + this.jobName +"." + new Timestamp(System.currentTimeMillis())));
LOGGER.debug("Prefix = " + prefix);
messageAgent.setReplyQueuePrefix(prefix);
logger.debug("PCFMessageAgent with dynamic queue " + messageAgent.getModelQueueName() + " created");
PCFMessage[] responses = this.inquireChannel(messageAgent);


what I get from the execution of my code is

Code:

2020-02-26 11:48:15 DEBUG MQConnectionsMonitor:81 - Prefix = bd46b443d6e2723e9561e36d8b05d701
2020-02-26 11:48:15 DEBUG MQConnectionsMonitor:83 - PCFMessageAgent with dynamic queue SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE created


I've some doubts about that "SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE", I think there is something wrong.

Thanks

No the response is correct. in the last part you did not ask for the name of the dynamic response queue, but you asked for the name of the model queue used to generate it, and that is the SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE.

So nothing wrong there
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elledido
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Posts: 5

fjb_saper wrote:

No the response is correct. in the last part you did not ask for the name of the dynamic response queue, but you asked for the name of the model queue used to generate it, and that is the SYSTEM.DEFAULT.MODEL.QUEUE.

So nothing wrong there


Thanks a lot! Yes, I was pretty sure that it was simply a "model", but I had some doubts
So, do you think the MD5 digest on that string could be a good choice in order to avoid concurrency problems?
I have a fully qualified class name + a job name (unique name) + a timestamp.

I will try.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

elledido wrote:
What is the difference between
Code:
setReplyQueuePrefix(String prefixP)
and
Code:
setModelQueueName(String prefixP)


Can I use the latter in order to create a unique dynamic queue?



setModelQueueName tells the queue manager which QMODEL object to use as the template.

setReplyQueuePrefix tells the queue manager a portion of the resultant created temporary queue name. If you end this prefix with an asterisk, then the queue manager will fill in the rest with a timestamp, so you only need to create the stem with something that will help with your concurrency.

Read more about this field in the underlying MQI here:
DynamicQName (MQCHAR48)

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2492
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Code:
String prefix = this.getMD5digest((this.getClass().getName() + "." + this.jobName +"." + new Timestamp(System.currentTimeMillis())));
LOGGER.debug("Prefix = " + prefix);
messageAgent.setReplyQueuePrefix(prefix);

Best practice for dynamic queue name prefixes is to use a high level qualifier, optionally followed by your own random part. eg. "MYDYNQ.1e9a8fec12fad48e". MQ then appends a randomly generated suffix. The prefix should be fewer than 33 chars.

There is also a System.nanoTime() function that may return more precision than System.currentTimeMillis(). The process PID is probably more unique than the class name and job name.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » PCF agent returns error code 2100
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.