ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportAutomatic Queue Creation

Post new topicReply to topic
Automatic Queue Creation View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
andrewfemin
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:38 am Post subject: Automatic Queue Creation Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Posts: 50

Hi,

I have two Full Reposities(FR1 & FR2) and two Partial Repositories(PR1 & PR2) in my cluster. An application is connecting to FR1 using a server connection channel and it's sending messages to two cluster local queues that are present in the PRs. During this, we've observed that sometimes, instead of the messages going to the cluster local queues in the PRs, a local queue is created in FR1 and all the subsequent messages are put there. At the same time, nothing is written in the logs either. Can you please help me understand this behaviour?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:48 am Post subject: Re: Automatic Queue Creation Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25776
Location: Ohio, USA

andrewfemin wrote:
Can you please help me understand this behaviour?


A bug in the application code is causing the "addressing" of the message to be specifically the FR queue manager and in response the FR creates the needed queue and puts the messages to that, not the PR versions.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewfemin
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Aug 2017
Posts: 50

Thanks Vitor. Just to confirm, by "application code" you mean the client application, right? Also, can you please point me to some documentation on the MQ Queue auto creation? I tried and couldn't find any. May be I'm not searching right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8431
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

An application that MQOPENs a QModel definition will create a queue dynamically - what seems to you to be automatic.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:02 pm Post subject: Re: Automatic Queue Creation Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2078

Sounds like a bug to me, probably in the application, but this can't happen "by accident".
Check https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.1.0/com.ibm.mq.dev.doc/q026100_.htm
It takes quite some effort to create a dynamic queue (see above page) which is the thing Bruce is mentioning.
You would need to have a model queue on your putter's qmgr of the same name as the remote queues (seems unlikely).
Therefore it seems unlikely a dynamic queue is being created.
It seems unlikely your application is doing this deliberately, but who knows.
It also seems unlikely MQ would do this automatically, because that is not what it does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:51 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8431
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

What local queue is created? Display the queue (with MQExplorer or MQSC). What queue type?

Nothing is written to which logs? Do you mean the AMQERR01.LOG?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:46 pm Post subject: Re: Automatic Queue Creation Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1989
Location: Melbourne, Australia

andrewfemin wrote:
Hi,
...a local queue is created in FR1 and all the subsequent messages are put there

Something / someone is creating the local queue on the FR qmgr. MQ is not doing it by itself. Displaying the queue will show the create date/time. Compare its attributes to the same local queue on the PR qmgrs. You could try enabling MQ Command Events to see what is defining the queue.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:25 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1169
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

I would concur with all my learned colleagues have already said.

There is nothing in clustering that will create a 'pre-defined' local queue on a FR automatically. If there is a 'pre-defined' local queue of that name on the FR it is because someone defined it there.

Check the definition of the queues in question, and look at DEFTYPE and CRDATE and CRTIME. Perhaps post back here with the DISPLAY QLOCAL(name) output so we can see too?

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportAutomatic Queue Creation
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.