ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Does Queue has parameter to specify expiry of messages?

Does Queue has parameter to specify expiry of messages? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
krypton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 7:01 am    Post subject: Does Queue has parameter to specify expiry of messages? Reply with quote

Disciple

Hi, we want to set message expiry period at MQ Local Queue level but I could not find any such parameter.
Is there any such way where as an admin I can set message coming to a particular queue to expire at a specified interval.
I don't want to give the control/dependency to the application putting the messages.
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 7:51 am    Post subject: Re: Does Queue has parameter to specify expiry of messages? Reply with quote

Jedi Council

krypton wrote:
Hi, we want to set message expiry period at MQ Local Queue level but I could not find any such parameter...

Look harder...

krypton wrote:
..Is there any such way where as an admin I can set message coming to a particular queue to expire at a specified interval...

Yes, depending on MQ version...

krypton wrote:
...I don't want to give the control/dependency to the application putting the messages.

Why not? It's their data and you should not arbitrarily be expiring business messages.
krypton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:00 am    Post subject: Re: Does Queue has parameter to specify expiry of messages? Reply with quote

Disciple

exerk wrote:
krypton wrote: