ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently?

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:16 am    Post subject: How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently? Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 130

Hi guys,

We have an application using its application server's MQ adapter to connect and put messages to qmgr. Now, there is a need to add another qmgr and cluster them. How can we make the app connect to both the qmgrs concurrently or at least reconnect to the 2nd qmgr when the 1st one becomes unavailable?

Below are the only fields available in the adapter.

MQSeries Server:
Port:
Channel:
Queue name:
Queue Manager:
SSL cipher suite:

Appreciate any inputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:46 am    Post subject: Re: How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently? Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

MQMB&WAS wrote:
...Now, there is a need to add another qmgr and cluster them...

Presumably to load-balance the message traffic?

MQMB&WAS wrote:
...How can we make the app connect to both the qmgrs concurrently...

Normally by coding it to do so...

MQMB&WAS wrote:
...or at least reconnect to the 2nd qmgr when the 1st one becomes unavailable?

Generally by using a CCDT file, but your statement begs the question - if your application can only connect to one queue manager at a time, what's the point of load-balancing message traffic rather than using a high-availability solution?

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Below are the only fields available in the adapter.

MQSeries Server:
Port:
Channel:
Queue name:
Queue Manager:
SSL cipher suite:

Looks to me like you're stuffed - one queue manager, and one queue seems to be it.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:54 am    Post subject: Re: How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently? Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Now, there is a need to add another qmgr and cluster them.

I guess you probably mean "HA clusters", as mentioned on this page:
"High availability configurations"
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.0.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q017820_.htm

You probably *don't* mean MQ queue manager clusters.

But I am not sure.

Can you clarify, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 130

Thanks for your time guys.

I meant MQ qmgr cluster. And the purpose is to provide failover.
I know Multi-Instance qmgr is a solution, but we are looking for other options.

Is there any other way to have this app (using the adapter) reconnect to the 2nd qmgr when the 1st one goes down?

Can F5 load balancer be used here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Can F5 load balancer be used here?

As it looks to me that you're instantiating a client connection, yes.

But my question remains - if you're going to load-balance message traffic, what (if anything) is going to service the queue on the unconnected-to queue manager?

Or are you going to try the pain of setting cluster workload priorities, in which case watch what happens when there's a 'cough' on the more-highly-prioritised channel...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

MQMB&WAS wrote:
I meant MQ qmgr cluster. And the purpose is to provide failover.
I know Multi-Instance qmgr is a solution, but we are looking for other options.


MQ clustering is not one of the other options.

You'll find a lot of discussion on this in here with the aid of the search facility, and I echo the questions/concerns of my worthy associate. The other common question asked in this scenario is how you plan to process messages delivered to the downed queue manager but not yet retrieved by the application?

This is a stony road that will only lead you to misery.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
...The other common question asked in this scenario is how you plan to process messages delivered to the downed queue manager but not yet retrieved by the application?

When I answered such a question (without a trace of irony) with "would you like me to chisel the electrons off the platter?", it was met with a stony silence...

...some people just have NO sense of humour.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9396
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MQMB&WAS wrote:
I meant MQ qmgr cluster.

I've lost track. You 'meant MQ qmgr cluster' with regards to what? An app doesn't connect to a cluster.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
...some people just have NO sense of humour.


I believe you to be one of them.

You hated that clown I got you for your birthday party. Even after he offered to let you float with the others....

In fairness, his act did go down the toilet pretty quickly.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
...some people just have NO sense of humour.


I believe you to be one of them.

You hated that clown I got you for your birthday party. Even after he offered to let you float with the others....

In fairness, his act did go down the toilet pretty quickly.

Sharper than a serpents tooth you are
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
...some people just have NO sense of humour.


I believe you to be one of them.

You hated that clown I got you for your birthday party. Even after he offered to let you float with the others....

In fairness, his act did go down the toilet pretty quickly.

Sharper than a serpents tooth you are


Nice to see the Jedi training is going well.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

bruce2359 wrote:
MQMB&WAS wrote:
I meant MQ qmgr cluster.

I've lost track. You 'meant MQ qmgr cluster' with regards to what? An app doesn't connect to a cluster.


A response to this I think:
mvic wrote:

I guess you probably mean "HA clusters", as mentioned on this page:
"High availability configurations"
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.0.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q017820_.htm

You probably *don't* mean MQ queue manager clusters.

But I am not sure.

Can you clarify, please?


So the OP clarified he did mean MQ clusters, and he did mean HA, and it will get mean.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 130

exerk wrote:
MQMB&WAS wrote:
Can F5 load balancer be used here?

As it looks to me that you're instantiating a client connection, yes.


Yes, for a client connection.

exerk wrote:
But my question remains - if you're going to load-balance message traffic, what (if anything) is going to service the queue on the unconnected-to queue manager?

Or are you going to try the pain of setting cluster workload priorities, in which case watch what happens when there's a 'cough' on the more-highly-prioritised channel...

The messages will be sent to an outside qmgr via message channels.


We're looking for a connection failover solution for the app(using the adapter).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

MQMB&WAS wrote:

The messages will be sent to an outside qmgr via message channels.


This makes no sense as written.

You have 2 queue managers in an MQ cluster. You're connecting to one or other (or both) of the queue managers (because you can't connect to the cluster) via an F5. One of the queue managers goes down, so the application connects to the other one, possibly establishing 2 connections to it.

What's sending messages to an outside queue manager via message channels, where is it sending the messages from and what's happening to the messages on the downed queue manager?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 130

ok, let me explain the current setup.

The application actually has 2 qmgrs (not clustered) to use. These 2 qmgrs have sender channels to vendor qmgrs to route the msgs.
In the app server's adapter they put the below details to connect and put msgs to 1 qmgr (so, the other qmgr is just idle, not taking any msgs)
MQSeries Server:
Port:
Channel:
Queue name:
Queue Manager:
SSL cipher suite:
Now, when the app team notices an issue with the 1st qmgr/server, they manually change the settings in the adapter to connect/put to the 2nd qmgr. App team is not worried about the msgs on the downed qmgr. They will be routed to the vendor once the qmgr becomes available.

Now, we are looking for a way to automate the client re-connection, so the app team doesn't have to manually change the settings in the adapter.

So, from what I understand F5 can be used for this? If so, I'll do some research on how to configure it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » How to connect to clustered qmgrs concurrently?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.