ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Trouble setting up a mq client access to queue 2058

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Trouble setting up a mq client access to queue 2058 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
rib445
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:49 am    Post subject: Trouble setting up a mq client access to queue 2058 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

Hi

I've followed the instructions on this page to the letter to create a QMGR, QLOCAL and Channel using MQ Series 9.0.3

www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q009310_.htm

However when I write a message to the queue from a remote machine I get the error below:-

"2058 - Q Mgr Name Error"

I've found the errors directory but none of the files are updated when doing this.

Its the first time I'm setting up a new queue so I'm sure I'm just missing some step.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Please post how you are invoking the client channel, e.g. using the amqsputc sample programme.

At the bottom of the page the url above refers to is a link to setting up the client; did you follow the instructions in that other link?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rib445
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

I was using some software developed in-house that writes/reads to queues. I can try amqsputc following the link at the bottom of the page for this.

If I try on the local machine (v9.0.3.0):
Code:

[root@svr110 bin]# ./amqsput QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
target queue is QUEUE1

Sample AMQSPUT0 end

And I'm able to read that message by using the get sample program.

But, if I try on a remote machine running MQ v7.5.0.2 I get the following error:

Code:

[root@svr060 bin]# ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2058


So either it seems there is a different response for remote connections or a compatibility problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Did you SET MQ environment variables? MQSERVER=
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rib445
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

Yes,

export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr110(1415)'

I get different error codes if I amend the above to other values
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

The URL you posted is for setting up the queue manager on the server platform - not the client platform. What procedure are you following to enable a client connection on the client platform?

Please be precise. What different errors?

Amend what? What other values?

It would help if you post the entire conversation from the client shell. Post all of the ENV variables before you issue the amqsputc command?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rib445
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

bruce2359 wrote:
The URL you posted is for setting up the queue manager on the server platform - not the client platform. What procedure are you following to enable a client connection on the client platform?


I'm following the instructions on the URLs under what to do next, ie.
Connecting a WebSphere MQ MQI client to a queue manager, using the MQSERVER environment variable
Testing communication between a client and a server

Quote:
Please be precise. What different errors? Amend what? What other values? It would help if you post the entire conversation from the client shell.

Code:

-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr110(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2058
-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNELX/TCP/'svr110(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2540
-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr112(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2538


Reason codes:
2058 - MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR
2540 - MQRC_UNKNOWN_CHANNEL_NAME
2538 - MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE

2540 and 2538 are expected since I entered invalid channel and host names but 2058 doesn't make sense since it worked where client and server is the same machine.

Quote:
Post all of the ENV variables before you issue the amqsputc command?


Code:

BASH=/bin/bash
BASHOPTS=cmdhist:expand_aliases:extquote:force_fignore:hostcomplete:interactive_comments:login_shell:progcomp:promptvars:sourcepath
BASH_ALIASES=()
BASH_ARGC=()
BASH_ARGV=()
BASH_CMDS=()
BASH_LINENO=()
BASH_SOURCE=()
BASH_VERSINFO=([0]="4" [1]="1" [2]="2" [3]="2" [4]="release" [5]="x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu")
BASH_VERSION='4.1.2(2)-release'
COLORS=/etc/DIR_COLORS
COLUMNS=171
DIRSTACK=()
EUID=497
GROUPS=()
G_BROKEN_FILENAMES=1
HISTCONTROL=ignoredups
HISTFILE=/var/mqm/.bash_history
HISTFILESIZE=1000
HISTSIZE=1000
HOME=/var/mqm
HOSTNAME=svr060
HOSTTYPE=x86_64
IFS=$' \t\n'
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LESSOPEN='||/usr/bin/lesspipe.sh %s'
LINES=48
LOGNAME=mqm
LS_COLORS=xxx
MACHTYPE=x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu
MAIL=/var/spool/mail/mqm
MAILCHECK=60
MQSERVER='CHANNEL1/TCP/svr110(1415)'
OLDPWD=/opt/mqm
OPTERR=1
OPTIND=1
OSTYPE=linux-gnu
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/node/bin
PIPESTATUS=([0]="234")
PPID=49049
PS1='\s-\v\$ '
PS2='> '
PS4='+ '
PWD=/opt/mqm/samp/bin
SHELL=/bin/bash
SHELLOPTS=braceexpand:emacs:hashall:histexpand:history:interactive-comments:monitor
SHLVL=1
TERM=xterm
UID=497
USER=mqm
_=QM_TEST
colors=/etc/DIR_COLORS


Last edited by rib445 on Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

rib445 wrote:
Yes,

export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr110(1415)'

I get different error codes if I amend the above to other values

You're on Linux, hence:

Code:
export MQSERVER='ChannelName/TransportType/ConnectionName'

_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rib445
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

So you mean instead of :

Code:
export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr110(1415)'


I should use:

Code:
export MQSERVER='CHANNEL1/TCP/svr110(1415)'


I tried and I get exactly the same error.

Is there anyway to get some more verbose (or any) logging that could help diagnose what's happening?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

This syntax should work on Linux:
Code:
export MQSERVER=channelname/TCP/'ipaddress(port)'


Please post the results of the exp command in the same shell and just before you exec amqsputc command.

Post ALL of the conversation in the same shell:
- the export command with no parameters
- the export MQSERVER cmd
- the export command with no parameters
- the amqsputc command

You can also verify the shell variable with this command: echo $MQSERVER

From your client platform, can you successfully ping the ipaddress? Can you successfully telnet?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Look for errors captured by MQ in errors directories on both client and server platforms.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

bruce2359 wrote:
This syntax should work on Linux...

Every day a school day...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

rib445 wrote:

-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr110(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2058
-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNELX/TCP/'svr110(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2540
-bash-4.1$ export MQSERVER=CHANNEL1/TCP/'svr112(1415)'
-bash-4.1$ ./amqsputc QUEUE1 QM_TEST
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2538


Of course you received three different reason codes. You did three different tests.
First test: 2058 tells me that the qmgr you named does not exist on the server svr110.
Second test: 2540 tells me that CHANNELX doesn't exist on the qmgr. Why did you change the channel name?
Third test: 2538 tells me that the qmgr doesn't exist at svr112.

Is the qmgr really named QM_TEST? Or, is the qmgr 'qm_test'? At a shell, type this command dspmqver, and post the results here.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rib445
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

I've figured out the issue. This was my second attempt at setting up a QM and my first attempt at a QM was apparently still running and listening on port 1415 (although I didn't see any errors about this), so the initial error "2058 - Q Mgr Name Error" was quite accurate. On ending this old QM and starting my new 'QM_TEST' I'm able to get and put remotely.

Thanks to everyone for helping with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Happy to help.

But, you have not explained exactly and precisely what the problem that is now fixed. Please share with us and others who might have the same/similar problem in the future.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Trouble setting up a mq client access to queue 2058
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.