ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportIntermitten Transfer failuer

Post new topicReply to topic
Intermitten Transfer failuer View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
AG_EAI
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:13 pm Post subject: Intermitten Transfer failuer Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

Scheduled transfer failing intermittently with below error captured at source server where MQ client is installed. But in when the transfer is re-triggered after few mins the messages getting processed. No issues from network perspective and backup process. Any idea what could be done to avoid failuer at 1st place?

Process(25690.1) User(aabadm) Program(mqftssndc)
Host(XX) Installation(Installation1)
VRMF(7.5.0.0)
AMQ9202: Remote host '' not available, retry later.

EXPLANATION:
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '' for channel
SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN was not successful. However the error may be a transitory
one and it may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation
later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:05 pm Post subject: Re: Intermitten Transfer failuer Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5717

AG_EAI wrote:
EXPLANATION:
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '' for channel
SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN...

Perhaps because the other end is trying to connect to the wrong type of channel?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7830
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

More specifically, in a client-->mqgr server setup, the client connects to a SVRCONN channel type. While the SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN channel template is a suitable channel, it is best-practice (for channel management) to NOT use a SYSTEM object. Rather, define an application oriented SVRCONN, like PAYROLL.SVRCONN.
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: Melbourne, Australia

It is possible that the client program is using a CCDT and MQ is selecting the default 'SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN' from that file. Its connection name will be blank, leading to error AMQ9202: Remote host '' not available, retry later.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AG_EAI
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:29 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

gbaddeley wrote:
It is possible that the client program is using a CCDT and MQ is selecting the default 'SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN' from that file. Its connection name will be blank, leading to error AMQ9202: Remote host '' not available, retry later.


Do you suggest anything changes for MQ to not select the default 'SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AG_EAI
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:31 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

bruce2359 wrote:
More specifically, in a client-->mqgr server setup, the client connects to a SVRCONN channel type. While the SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN channel template is a suitable channel, it is best-practice (for channel management) to NOT use a SYSTEM object. Rather, define an application oriented SVRCONN, like PAYROLL.SVRCONN.


Thanks !!

So do you suggeste to make changes to MQ server setup in client so that it would use SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN instaed of SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:19 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5717

AG_EAI wrote:
...So do you suggeste to make changes to MQ server setup in client so that it would use SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN instaed of SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN ?

I doubt that's what is meant. What you should do is create an application-specific SVRCONN, with all appropriate security safeguards set on it, and create a Client Channel Definition Table (CCDT) file for the application to use, the CCDT file containing the CLNTCONN definition for the application to use, e.g. THIS ARTICLE.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AG_EAI
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

exerk wrote:
AG_EAI wrote:
...So do you suggeste to make changes to MQ server setup in client so that it would use SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN instaed of SYSTEM.DEF.CLNTCONN ?

I doubt that's what is meant. What you should do is create an application-specific SVRCONN, with all appropriate security safeguards set on it, and create a Client Channel Definition Table (CCDT) file for the application to use, the CCDT file containing the CLNTCONN definition for the application to use, e.g. THIS ARTICLE.


Yes Application has CCDT file which contains CLNTCONN definition. The error we see at Source application where client is installed when inititate transfer is as :
KFT0002 Warning: MQSERVER environment variable not set
KFT0003 Failed: MQSeries comp code 2, reason 2058. Function MQCONN, on object
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24527
Location: Ohio, USA

AG_EAI wrote:
Yes Application has CCDT file which contains CLNTCONN definition. The error we see at Source application where client is installed when inititate transfer is as :
KFT0002 Warning: MQSERVER environment variable not set
KFT0003 Failed: MQSeries comp code 2, reason 2058. Function MQCONN, on object


Well that seems pretty clear cut.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5717

Vitor wrote:
AG_EAI wrote:
Yes Application has CCDT file which contains CLNTCONN definition. The error we see at Source application where client is installed when inititate transfer is as :
KFT0002 Warning: MQSERVER environment variable not set
KFT0003 Failed: MQSeries comp code 2, reason 2058. Function MQCONN, on object


Well that seems pretty clear cut.

And if needs the variable, and can use nothing else, say goodbye to security...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportIntermitten Transfer failuer
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.