ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMulti Instance Queue Manager detection fails

Post new topicReply to topic
Multi Instance Queue Manager detection fails View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:28 am Post subject: Multi Instance Queue Manager detection fails Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

Hey folks,

for one of our customer we are moving to a multi instance queue manager based HA solution, but there seem to be some stones to take.

So we are forced to run MQ in a Windows 2012 domain, MQ servers are no domain controllers, global Domain Group for security purposes is created and granted access to the CIFS Share we want to use for the qmgrs data und logs. In addition its part of the local mqm groups ob the MQ servers. All mq services within one stage use the same domain user account as runtime user.

Procedure as follows:
1.) Created qmgr instance on server A with -a specifying the domain group and -sax for the multi instances --> Success and qm.ini looks quite fine:
AccessMode:
SecurityGroup=whatWeWanted
RemoveMQMAccess=FALSE
2.) Created Referenz on server B --> Success
3.) strmqm -x on server A --> First Instance running
4.) strmqm -x on server B --> mentioned to run elsewhere

So everything seems to work fine and the active instance is running fine.

Now when we come up with dspmq -x -o standby remote instances are shown as
Instance(?) an no failover can be initiated.

INSTANCE(30502) MODE(Aktiv)
QMNAME(XXX1450S) STANDBY(Zugelassen)
INSTANCE(?) MODE(Aktiv)
INSTANCE(30502) MODE(Standby)

If we stop the queue Manager an take a look at the master and standby files, the seem to be filled correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

So where do the commands get the instance names from? I thought this is handled with the files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19246
Location: LI,NY

TZO wrote:
So where do the commands get the instance names from? I thought this is handled with the files.

Have you compared the mqs.ini file on both servers for the queue manager?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

Yes we did, installationNames, paths, suffix and queue manager names are equal ob both sides.

We are eben able to start the queue manager as active from both servers, but as we start a standby instance those arent detected correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19246
Location: LI,NY

TZO wrote:
Yes we did, installationNames, paths, suffix and queue manager names are equal ob both sides.

We are eben able to start the queue manager as active from both servers, but as we start a standby instance those arent detected correctly.

What is the result of dspmqinst -all or equivalent?
Looks to me that something did not go right in the installation on 1 of the servers... Are you using the same Active Directory service Id on both servers?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

Hi,

I just saw thar FDCs are written everytime that issue occurs:

| Major Errorcode :- xecF_E_UNEXPECTED_SYSTEM_RC |
| Minor Errorcode :- OK |
| Probe Type :- MSGAMQ6119 |
| Probe Severity :- 2 |
| Probe Description :- AMQ6119: Es ist ein interner WebSphere MQ-Fehler |
| aufgetreten (WinNT error 33 from ReadFile.). |
| FDCSequenceNumber :- 0 |
| Comment1 :- WinNT error 33 from ReadFile. |
| Comment2 :- The process cannot access the file because another |
| process has locked a portion of the file. |
| |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+

Seems that the files are locked. Does this mean the cifs share does not work as intended?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19246
Location: LI,NY

TZO wrote:
Hi,

I just saw thar FDCs are written everytime that issue occurs:

Code:
| Major Errorcode   :- xecF_E_UNEXPECTED_SYSTEM_RC                            |
| Minor Errorcode   :- OK                                                     |
| Probe Type        :- MSGAMQ6119                                             |
| Probe Severity    :- 2                                                      |
| Probe Description :- AMQ6119: Es ist ein interner WebSphere MQ-Fehler       |
|   aufgetreten (WinNT error 33 from ReadFile.).                              |
| FDCSequenceNumber :- 0                                                      |
| Comment1          :- WinNT error 33 from ReadFile.                          |
| Comment2          :- The process cannot access the file because another     |
|   process has locked a portion of the file.                                 |
|                                                                             |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+


Seems that the files are locked. Does this mean the cifs share does not work as intended?

Not necessarily. It might just mean that some windows process (notepad ?) has some file open that the qmgr doesn't like to share...

The other possibility is that the permissions on the CIF are not right.
The usergroup specified in the create qmgr should be the owner of the corresponding CIF share directories (qmgrname in data), (qmgrname in logs)... The service user should be a member of that group...
Sometimes you need to create the qmgr with -a -r and not just -a ...
Hope it helps some. When in doubt and windows.... reboot.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:43 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

Hi,

the global domain group has full access to the share and the mqdata und mqlogs directories were created with the runtime user, which is member of that group. Experiences with creating reading and deleting files on that share from both servers did work well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TZO
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:45 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 8

What does -r mean, newer saw this parameter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19246
Location: LI,NY

TZO wrote:
What does -r mean, newer saw this parameter?

Quote:
If you specify the group using -ar instead of -a , the local mqm group is not granted access to the queue manager data files. Use this option if the file system hosting the queue manager data files does not support access control entries for locally defined groups.

See the entry for crtmqm in the infocenter

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1166
Location: Derby City, USA

Doesn't this thread belong in "General IBM MQ Support" and not "General Discussion"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24444
Location: Ohio, USA

JosephGramig wrote:
Doesn't this thread belong in "General IBM MQ Support" and not "General Discussion"?


So moved.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMulti Instance Queue Manager detection fails
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.