ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportAnyway to stop qload or dmpmqmsg from looping ?

Post new topicReply to topic
Anyway to stop qload or dmpmqmsg from looping ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:20 pm Post subject: Anyway to stop qload or dmpmqmsg from looping ? Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 524

I am using MQ V9 on Linux. I am using dmpmqmsg to move message from Q1 to Q2. Messages are coming in 1 or 2 per second. I cannot loose message, so I use transaction to handle 1 message at a time with a wait time of 15 seconds.

dmpmqmsg -m QM1 -I Q1 -o Q2 -w15 -t 1

When dmpmqmsg has problem outputting the message to Q2 , it roll back the message as expected. But then it goes into a loop because the roll back message will be picked up and roll back again. This is the typical case of poison message and I understand that the application should handle it using Bo threshold and backout requeue Q.
It does not seem that dmpmqmsg or qload has that capability. I may not have read through all the qload or dmpmqmsg parameters. I just want to confirm that I have not miss anything. Does anyone has experience on handling this using programs other than qload or dmpmqmsg. I am looking for some free program that I can use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:26 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 864
Location: New Zealand

What do you mean it keeps looping ?

If QLOAD fails to put a message to the target queue I would expect the message to be rolled back and program to end.

QLOAD does not have BO queue processing in it. Frankly I didn't think it necessary. BO processing is, as you point out, for poison messages. Since QLOAD doesn't actually process a message but just puts it to the target queue, there is not much scope for the application failing because of the content of the message.

If you really need this I could, of course, add BO semantics to our QLOAD product however, it is not free. Very good value....but not free

Cheers,

Paul
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 524

Quote:
If QLOAD fails to put a message to the target queue I would expect the message to be rolled back and program to end.


Thanks Paul for pointing this out. I think dmpmqmsg should behave the same too. I'll investigate more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 524

The dmpmqmsg program is ran by a shell script. I have set up Q1 to trigger on first to start the shell script. I turned on some diagnostic logging and confirmed that the dmpmqmsg actual failed with the PUT inhibited error on Q2. But the trigger monitor start it again. So the symptom is looping. I have to figure out a way to stop this. Any suggestion ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5578
Location: UK

Add a delay (sleep) to the script to stop a tight loop for one thing.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 864
Location: New Zealand

What do you mean by "figure a way to stop this" ? What behaviour do you want ?
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19430
Location: LI,NY

KIT_INC wrote:
The dmpmqmsg program is ran by a shell script. I have set up Q1 to trigger on first to start the shell script. I turned on some diagnostic logging and confirmed that the dmpmqmsg actual failed with the PUT inhibited error on Q2. But the trigger monitor start it again. So the symptom is looping. I have to figure out a way to stop this. Any suggestion ?

If the target is put inhibited, send an alert (email, pager), disable the trigger (avoid looping) and exit gracefully...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportAnyway to stop qload or dmpmqmsg from looping ?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.