ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker Supportfile transfer to remote desktop

Post new topicReply to topic
file transfer to remote desktop View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
WMBSAM
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:40 am Post subject: file transfer to remote desktop Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 02 Oct 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Atlanta

Hello,

have requirement where a file needs to be transferred to remote desktop (windows)location.

below are the destination information available:

destination ip address
Destination directory(C:\somedirectory)

i was thinking to use fileoutput node and transfer file with userid and pass configured using MQSISetdbparam command.

was curious if this doable using fileoutnode in IIB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:45 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5452
Location: UK

Not a great idea to incorporate a desktop destination address into a production design.

You could put the file to some sort of shared storage which is mounted on the broker host.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24391
Location: Ohio, USA

zpat wrote:
Not a great idea to incorporate a desktop destination address into a production design.




What are you going to do if the desktop is switched off or otherwise unavailable?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:19 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5452
Location: UK

Also most desktops obtain dynamic IP addresses via DHCP.

FTP/SFTP would require a suitable service to be running on the desktop.

A better way might be to send the file to a windows server that does have a FTP/SFTP service running and write the file to a LAN drive mounted on tat server, that can also be accessed by the desktop.

What platform is your broker running on?
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBSAM
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:29 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 02 Oct 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Atlanta

zpat wrote:
Not a great idea to incorporate a desktop destination address into a production design.

You could put the file to some sort of shared storage which is mounted on the broker host.


Agreed .going with the shared storage mounted on broker host.

Sorry for the late reply.

thanks for the above inputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker Supportfile transfer to remote desktop
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.