ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportReset RCVR channel

Post new topicReply to topic
Reset RCVR channel View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
bkiran2020
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:01 am Post subject: Reset RCVR channel Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 240
Location: US

In which case, we will be resetting RCVR channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:18 am Post subject: Re: Reset RCVR channel Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7780
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

bkiran2020 wrote:
In which case, we will be resetting RCVR channel

Was this a question?

The RESET CHANNEL script command is used to (re)set the sequence wrap value should it be out of sync with the SENDER channel end. I've seen this mostly when someone at the RCVR end of the channel deletes and redefines the channel.
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bkiran2020
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:27 am Post subject: Re: Reset RCVR channel Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 240
Location: US

bruce2359 wrote:
bkiran2020 wrote:
In which case, we will be resetting RCVR channel

Was this a question?

The RESET CHANNEL script command is used to (re)set the sequence wrap value should it be out of sync with the SENDER channel end. I've seen this mostly when someone at the RCVR end of the channel deletes and redefines the channel.


In one DR activity, I was asked to reset the RCVR channel. I never reset the RCVR channel. Just want to know why we need to reset RCVR channel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:35 am Post subject: Re: Reset RCVR channel Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24338
Location: Ohio, USA

bkiran2020 wrote:
Just want to know why we need to reset RCVR channel.


For the reasons given by my associate. If you're asking why you were asked to reset the RCVR channel as part of your DR activity, ask the person who asked you to do it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 6:36 pm Post subject: Re: Reset RCVR channel Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19150
Location: LI,NY

bkiran2020 wrote:

In one DR activity, I was asked to reset the RCVR channel. I never reset the RCVR channel. Just want to know why we need to reset RCVR channel.


If you flipped to DR you likely replace the prod qmgr with a DR qmgr with the same name. However the channel seq numbers are unlikely to be the same. The correct seq numbers will be found in the logs. This is most probably why you were asked to reset the seq number.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 8:36 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 817
Location: New Zealand

Generally speaking you should only ever need to RESET the Sending end of the channel. The Sending channel will inform the receiving side of the sequence number to expect when it next starts up.

You can RESET a receiver but it should be avoided if you possibly can. The only time you should do it is if you have no access to the sending side. However, be aware that there is a race condition which is why it is not advised. When you RESET a receiver the new sequence number is applied to the next receiver instance that starts up. So, if you are using generic receivers or a cluster environment you need to somehow ensure that it is the correct channel pairing that is next to start.

Cheers,
Paul.
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportReset RCVR channel
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.