ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportIIB 10 - Mapping node

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
IIB 10 - Mapping node View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

scravr wrote:
anyone remember and can point to the old support pack that converts map node to esql compute node?


I apologize if I gave you the wrong impression. What I meant was that v7 map nodes ran as ESQL under the covers; v8 and later are executable code.

I wasn't implying that v7 map nodes could be converted to ESQL.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:16 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

Vitor wrote:
I wasn't implying that v7 map nodes could be converted to ESQL.


I vaguely remember that Ben Thompson did release a SupportPac that would do exactly this.

It doesn't help in moving from v7 to v8 and later maps, however...

Scravr, again... you're kind of up a tree here. Even if v8 toolkit does convert the v7 maps (which it probably? does?), you still face the issue of obsolete business logic, obsolete function, unclear prioritization, and discussion of cost and accumulated risk now vs risk/cost over time.

If you can't at least get prioritization, you can't address business logic/function in a useful way.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 672

Why do you need to convert these maps? Flows containing a v7 Mapping node can be deployed in v10 without modification.
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSMKHH_10.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/bh19410_.htm#mmap
Quote:
The message mapping (.msgmap) on these Version 7.0 nodes can be viewed, compiled into a BAR file, and deployed to run the same transformation logic that was used in Version 7.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scravr
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 344
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Unless I am missing something, but maps get RED errors on eclipse 10.
Build-in and custom ESQL functions and multi-level functions are not converted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
timber
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 672

You are missing something. The topic that I quoted could not be clearer. You *can* run v7 maps in v8, v9 and v10. You only need to convert your maps if you want to change the mapping logic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:16 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

timber wrote:
You are missing something. The topic that I quoted could not be clearer. You *can* run v7 maps in v8, v9 and v10. You only need to convert your maps if you want to change the mapping logic.


I think the problem (if I'm reading this correctly) is that the OP is migrating from v7 to v10 by importing the v7 workspaces and rebuilding the bar files.

So you're correct in that the OP could just deploy the v7 bar files into the v10 broker.

But the OP is claiming that imported v7 maps have errors.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scravr
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:43 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 344
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Finally someone got it !!!
Toolkit 10 has lots of errors on import and converting map. so bar will not build. Not sure I like to deploy bar-7 into broker-10.

Where is IBM. they have hundreds of clients migrating from 7 to 8, 9 , 10 and must have same issues.

HOW to convert functions in map. it take 10 minutes to fix each error with this toolkit-10 mapping node !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:58 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

scravr wrote:
Finally someone got it !!!


It's my particular skill.


scravr wrote:
Not sure I like to deploy bar-7 into broker-10.


In fairness, it's supported.

scravr wrote:
Where is IBM. they have hundreds of clients migrating from 7 to 8, 9 , 10 and must have same issues.


Maybe not in v8, when the majority of these hundreds of clients moved off v7. More formally, IBM are not making you convert them - they support the continued use of v7 bar files.

scravr wrote:
HOW to convert functions in map. it take 10 minutes to fix each error with this toolkit-10 mapping node !!!


And as someone said before, this is the same amount of time as migrating your code from v7 -> v8 -> v9 -v10 would take. So it's the same amount of time your site management has saved hanging onto this rabidly out of date version for so long.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 1:00 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19310
Location: LI,NY

scravr wrote:
Finally someone got it !!!
Toolkit 10 has lots of errors on import and converting map. so bar will not build. Not sure I like to deploy bar-7 into broker-10.

Where is IBM. they have hundreds of clients migrating from 7 to 8, 9 , 10 and must have same issues.

HOW to convert functions in map. it take 10 minutes to fix each error with this toolkit-10 mapping node !!!


The point mqjeff was trying to make is:
  • import the map (from 7.5)
  • DO NOT CONVERT THE MAP


Hope it helps.

_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 1:02 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

So in summary, you have 2 supported options:

- deploy the v7 bar files to your v10 brokers and kick the development effort down the road in alignment with your practice since v7;

- suck it up and convert your v7 source code to v10 standards. It's not just the mapping code that is better in v10; there are any number of good things you can exploit if you refactor the flows.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:00 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 672

Quote:
Finally someone got it !!!
No, you are still not reading carefully enough. Vitor thinks that you are "migrating from v7 to v10 by importing the v7 workspaces and rebuilding the bar files". But you are not doing that. You are converting the v7 maps using the migration tool. I know this is true because you said "Not sure I like to deploy bar-7 into broker-10"

There is no danger at all in using v7 maps in v10. The compiled maps are just ESQL. I'm fairly sure that you would happily use v7 ESQL in v10, so why not use the v7 maps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:03 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 672

...and reading a little more carefully still (following my own advice).

You don't have to deploy a v7 bar file into v10 (although you could do that). You can just import the v7 projects into your v10 toollkit workspace (without migrating the maps) and build a new BAR file in v10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5521
Location: UK

The downside of using the v7 bar files, is that the first time you want to fix something - you either have to use a v7 development environment or migrate the flow to v10 - thus introducing other factors into the fix.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:22 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 672

Quote:
The downside of using the v7 bar files, is that the first time you want to fix something - you either have to use a v7 development environment or migrate the flow to v10 - thus introducing other factors into the fix.
To be pedantic, that's the downside of not migrating the maps to the v10 mapping node format. It's not about the BAR file. Overall though, I agree - there are advantages to migrating the maps.

If many of the maps are likely to need changes then the OP should start a project to work out the best way to migrate all of the maps and re-test them all.
If almost all of the maps are going to stay unchanged for the next 10 years then it will make more sense to deploy the v7 maps.
If neither of the above is true then the best strategy is probably to deploy the v7 maps, migrate the ones that need changing now and wait until the cost of bulk migration is less than the hassle of piecemeal migration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martinb
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:49 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Posts: 164
Location: UK

..a bit late catching this one, but just to add my thoughts

- As noted you're not forced to convert the old .msgmap files as IIB v10 does support building a BAR with them.
However note
- The BAR has to be set to "compile" the message flows.
This is incompatible with some new features, like deployable subflows, deployable ESQL, shared libraries, REST APIs etc

- When/if you do decide to convert old .msgmap to the v8 and above Graphical Data Maps as noted there are some things that the convert tool does not handle. In those cases you have to either
- Pre-process the old .msgmap and re-run conversion
For example you could replace unsupported esql: functions with calls to your own ESQL, or some standard XPath
- Post-process the converted .map
If you are hitting a large number of similar cases you can consider scripting the pre/post-processing, or you might even be able to just use search/replace etc.
Note that IBM now publish an XML schema for the XML format of the new .map, Map Specification Language allowing you to use things like JAXB to implement processing

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Page 2 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportIIB 10 - Mapping node
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.