ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportHow is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated?

Post new topicReply to topic
How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
saviobarr
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:51 am Post subject: How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 21 Oct 2014
Posts: 89
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Hi everyone,
I have a message flow, which has a MQInput node as input, converting the message to XMLNSC domain. I found out when I run this same message flow on different OS, the value of Properties.codedCharsetID changes:

- Running on Linux fedora 25 the value is 819
- Running on Ubuntu 16 the value is 1209

I did some research trying to understand how the Message.Properties.CodedCharSetId is populated by default but I couldn't find. My visited this IBM KC, item "How the message tree is populated", but it tells me how Message.Properties.CodedCharSetId is NOT populated .

Reference:
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSMKHH_10.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac18520_.htm

Could you guys explain how the Message.Properties.CodedCharSetId is populated by default, pls?

Kind regards

Savio
_________________
Go as far as you can go. Then go farther!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5560
Location: UK

Look at the QM default CCSID value maybe?
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:30 am Post subject: Re: How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24614
Location: Ohio, USA

saviobarr wrote:
Could you guys explain how the Message.Properties.CodedCharSetId is populated by default, pls?


For an MQInput node, the CCSID is obtained from:

- the MQRFH2 header, if present
- the CCSID field of the MQMD

I agree with my worthy associate - it's highly unlikely that whoever's putting the message is explicitly setting the value, so it will default to whatever the queue manager's default code page is. This theory is reinforced by the values you're getting on the 2 OS systems.

Note that this is set when the message is put, so it's that queue manager in play which may or may not be the queue manager you're reading it from.

Note also that if you've got 2 queue managers and channel level conversion enabled (boo!) then this too affects the CCSID.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saviobarr
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:33 am Post subject: Re: How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 21 Oct 2014
Posts: 89
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Thanks for replying
Vitor wrote:

For an MQInput node, the CCSID is obtained from:

- the MQRFH2 header, if present
- the CCSID field of the MQMD


I changed the CCSID attribute of the QMGR, using the ALTER QMGR command and now the Properties.codedCharsetID is correct for both environments/SO's

Thanks for helping

Regards

Savio Barros
_________________
Go as far as you can go. Then go farther!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:39 am Post subject: Re: How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24614
Location: Ohio, USA

saviobarr wrote:
I changed the CCSID attribute of the QMGR, using the ALTER QMGR command and now the Properties.codedCharsetID is correct for both environments/SO's


Yay you.

Word of caution, mostly for future readers:

If you change the default CCSID, you need to be careful you don't accidently impact other applications using the same queue manager.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saviobarr
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:01 pm Post subject: Re: How is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 21 Oct 2014
Posts: 89
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Vitor wrote:

Word of caution, mostly for future readers:
If you change the default CCSID, you need to be careful you don't accidently impact other applications using the same queue manager.

Yes. I agree. But in my scenario, since all applications are set to Brazilian Portuguese (arghh), I believe there will be no issues.
_________________
Go as far as you can go. Then go farther!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportHow is Properties.codedCharsetID is populated?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.