ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMoving messages from one server + QM to another

Post new topicReply to topic
Moving messages from one server + QM to another View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
krypton
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:11 pm Post subject: Moving messages from one server + QM to another Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 94

hi All,

we have a requirement, we got application messages stuck in one server on QM2, now we need these messages on the same queue in QM1 on another server.

Can we move the messages present in QM2(server 2) to QM1 (server 1) and they works without any issues?
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:17 pm Post subject: Re: Moving messages from one server + QM to another Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24326
Location: Ohio, USA

krypton wrote:
Can we move the messages present in QM2(server 2) to QM1 (server 1)


Yes. Multiple utilities exist for this.

krypton wrote:
they works without any issues?


Assuming:

- the same application is processing them from QM1
- whatever caused them to get stuck on QM2 doesn't happen on QM1

They're just messages. MQ is blind to payload.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krypton
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:22 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 94

Quote:
Yes. Multiple utilities exist for this.


Hi Vitor, could you recommend any utility which comes with IBM MQ Server package or any other utility which is available for download with no license cost.

Thank you!
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:54 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 814
Location: New Zealand

Take a look at 'dmpmqmsg' or, if you are on an earlier MQ version the QLOAD SupportPac.

Cheers,

Paul.
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DeadPool
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 27 May 2016
Posts: 29

or if you are really desperate and you have teh queue managers in an mq explorer try doing it there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5437
Location: UK

MO71 can also move messages (either via a QLOAD format file or over a xmit queue between the QMs).

Support pac MS0P plug in to MQ explorer has a message management function.

It's often easier to move messages between two queues on the same QM, and if you define a sender channel / xmit queue to the other QM, you could move them to a remote queue definition, and have the QM send them over.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:55 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17250

If you are trying to have messages move from one queue manager to another, automatically , then you simply need to configure the two queue managers to talk to each other.

This is extremely straight forward and very well documented.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krypton
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 94

Quote:
If you are trying to have messages move from one queue manager to another, automatically , then you simply need to configure the two queue managers to talk to each other.


Thank you for your reply Jeff, no we are not trying to move messages from One server to another server automatically.

Sometimes what happened is someone on JBOSS side start an instance of application which SHOULD NOT be started and the app message ends up in QM2 (server 2) in the local Q.
we need those messages instead in QM1 (server1).
and it happens only occassionally and can happen to any of the FE application and message can go to that FE.App Queue.

I think using a utility for moving messages across servers would be great, long back (2009) when I was working on MQ V6 , I knew few utilities but none of them was supposed to move messages across the servers.

Maybe that has changed now.
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24326
Location: Ohio, USA

krypton wrote:
I think using a utility for moving messages across servers would be great, long back (2009) when I was working on MQ V6 , I knew few utilities but none of them was supposed to move messages across the servers.

Maybe that has changed now.


All of the utilities mentioned above (with the possible exception of the MQ Explorer plug-in, whose release date I can't be bothered to look up) worked fine on v6 in 2009. I can personally attest to using q, qload, RFHUtil et al on all versions of MQ back to v5.1 a long time before 2009.


_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 814
Location: New Zealand

If we are mentioning all tools that can do it then how about MQEdit (http://www.mqgem.com/mqedit.html) that even allows you to just drag and drop messages between Queue Managers!

Cheers,
Paul.
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24326
Location: Ohio, USA

PaulClarke wrote:
If we are mentioning all tools that can do it then how about MQEdit (http://www.mqgem.com/mqedit.html) that even allows you to just drag and drop messages between Queue Managers!


Apologies for the oversight; this utility should indeed have been mentioned / plugged in the above list.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinobyrne
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:32 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Location: Ireland

krypton wrote:


Sometimes what happened is someone on JBOSS side start an instance of application which SHOULD NOT be started and the app message ends up in QM2 (server 2) in the local Q.
we need those messages instead in QM1 (server1).
and it happens only occassionally and can happen to any of the FE application and message can go to that FE.App Queue.


Can you leave the queue on QM2 "PUT inhibited", then even if the 2nd JBOSS node starts, it can't write to the queue? Obviously this depends on how well the application running on JBOSS handles this (might make things worse).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMoving messages from one server + QM to another
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.