ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportchanging ErrorLogSize

Post new topicReply to topic
changing ErrorLogSize View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:30 am Post subject: changing ErrorLogSize Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 504

I like to change the ErrorLogSize of my v8 Qmgr by updating the qm.ini file.
I know qm.ini changes will need a Qmg restart to pick up. So that will be scheduled. This is a production Qmgr. I want to be sure that we do it right to avoid another restart.
I need help on the procedures
1. Do I have to delete the existing AMQERRXX LOG files which is at default of 2M ?
2. How can we be sure that the change is taking place right after the restart instead of waiting for AMQERR01.LOG to fill up and roll over to AMQERR02.LOG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6059
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

You can not change the log size without a complete QMGR rebuild. You can change the number of logs (primary and secondary)
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7729
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

The OP seems to be asking about the ERROR log files.
_________________
Random numbers are far too important to be left to chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6059
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

bruce2359 wrote:
The OP seems to be asking about the ERROR log files.


Opps Sorry. You are correct.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 504

Yes, it is about the AMQERRXX.LOG and not the MQ logs for MQ restart and recovery. I am testing it now using a test Qmgr. But I have difficulties filling up the LOG in a short period of time.

Last edited by KIT_INC on Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:03 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7729
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q019020_.htm describes the default and maximum; but I suppose you've already read this.

I've not tried this, but I'd guess that you would need to stop the qmgr, delete the existing error log files, and then restart the qmgr.

Should be easy enough to test on a new qmgr.
_________________
Random numbers are far too important to be left to chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:41 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7320

I don't think you need to delete the existing error logs after changing the qm.ini file. We change this setting for every QM we build, and have never deleted the original error logs.

Use the amqscnxc command from a machine with MQ Client installed to connect using a bad channel name. Every time you attempt to connect, the QM will record the failed attempt against the non existent channel name in the QM error log. Put that command in a loop and run it a couple thousand times.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 504

Yes, there is no need to delete the existing AMQERRXX.LOG file. When it roll over MQ create a new one with the new size specified. I cretaed a test qmgr using default 2M size and change the qm.ini to ErrorLogSize 4M and restart the qmgr. I then use a script to start and stop a channel every 5 seconds. After a day, here is what i see

-rw-rw---- 1 mqm mqm 3140050 Mar 23 08:36 AMQERR01.LOG
-rw-rw---- 1 mqm mqm 4194551 Mar 23 01:45 AMQERR02.LOG
-rw-rw---- 1 mqm mqm 2097252 Mar 21 14:39 AMQERR03.LOG

I hope this helps others.
At first I was hoping that there is a quick way to confirm instead of having to wait for a day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:31 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17059

KIT_INC wrote:
At first I was hoping that there is a quick way to confirm instead of having to wait for a day.

As peter suggested, you could cause MQ to generate thousands of error messages, until the log file rolls over.

You might also simply be able to echo "" >>AMQERR01.LOG (i.e. add a bunch of spaces to the end of the file), and run that a whole bunch of times.

I'm not sure MQ would like having a ton of spaces in it's log file, but I can't see why it wouldn't...

And the file might not be writable by anyone else..
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportchanging ErrorLogSize
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.