ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ API SupportMQCONNX ended with reason code 2538

Post new topicReply to topic
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538 View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:09 pm Post subject: MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538 Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 31

Hello Everyone,
I'm trying to test communication between MQ client(8.0.0.4) and server(8.0.0.4) and I'm getting 2538 error, I did check other posts from this forum but nothing helped. Any help is appreciated.

ON SERVER

bash-4.1$ dspmq -m QM1
QMNAME(QM1) STATUS(Running)

dis qmgr CHLAUTH
1 : dis qmgr CHLAUTH
AMQ8408: Display Queue Manager details.
QMNAME(QM1) CHLAUTH(DISABLED)

DIS LSSTATUS(QM1.LSTR)
2 : DIS LSSTATUS(QM1.LSTR)
AMQ8631: Display listener status details.
LISTENER(QM1.LSTR) STATUS(RUNNING)
PID(46893) STARTDA(2016-09-15)
STARTTI(08.21.4 DESCR( )
TRPTYPE(TCP) CONTROL(QMGR)
IPADDR(*) PORT(1515)
BACKLOG(100)

DIS QL(QUEUE1)
4 : DIS QL(QUEUE1)
AMQ8409: Display Queue details.
QUEUE(QUEUE1) TYPE(QLOCAL)

DIS CHANNEL(QM1.CHL)
5 : DIS CHANNEL(QM1.CHL)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(QM1.CHL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
ALTDATE(2016-09-15) ALTTIME(07.14.04)
CERTLABL( ) COMPHDR(NONE)
COMPMSG(NONE) DESCR( )
DISCINT(0) HBINT(300)
KAINT(AUTO) MAXINST(999999999)
MAXINSTC(999999999) MAXMSGL(4194304)
MCAUSER( ) MONCHL(QMGR)
RCVDATA( ) RCVEXIT( )
SCYDATA( ) SCYEXIT( )
SENDDATA( ) SENDEXIT( )
SHARECNV(10) SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)
SSLCIPH( ) SSLPEER( )
TRPTYPE(TCP)

bash-4.1$ setmqaut -m QM1 -t qmgr -p myusername +connect
The setmqaut command completed successfully.
bash-4.1$ setmqaut -m QM1 -n QUEUE1 -t q -p myusername +put +get
The setmqaut command completed successfully.

bash-4.1$ ifconfig | grep inet
inet addr:192.168.11.129

ON CLIENT

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ECHO %MQSERVER%
QM1.CHL/TCP/192.168.11.129(1515)

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>amqsputc QUEUE1 QM1
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538


C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>MQRC 2538

2538 0x000009ea MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE

I don't see any errors in qmgr logs. MQ client is installed on my local windows, MQ server is installed on VMware workstation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:47 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7760
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

What official IBM instructions document are you following?
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:10 am Post subject: Re: MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538 Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 665
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

MQMB&WAS wrote:
ON CLIENT

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ECHO %MQSERVER%
QM1.CHL/TCP/192.168.11.129(1515)

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>amqsputc QUEUE1 QM1
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538


C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>MQRC 2538

2538 0x000009ea MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE

I don't see any errors in qmgr logs. MQ client is installed on my local windows, MQ server is installed on VMware workstation.
There should be details in your client error log. If there's nothing in your QMGR error log, that suggests that the client didn't make it that far.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:23 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17166

2538 could be a CHLAUTH issue.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 665
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

mqjeff wrote:
2538 could be a CHLAUTH issue.
It could be if blocked by a BLOCKADDR rule, but then there would be an error in the QMgr error log.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rammer
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:18 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 303
Location: England majority USA the rest..

I presume you can Telnet from Client to Server to rule out any network issues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:28 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 31

bruce2359 wrote:
What official IBM instructions document are you following?


Hi Bruce, I've been using these docs. to configure this client-server setup,
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q009310_.htm
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q009320_.htm?view=embed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7760
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Did you successfully complete every step in these instructions? No errors or warnings?

Can you successfully telnet from the client platform to the server platform?

On the server, use runmqsc to DISPLAY QMGR. Is CHLAUTH enabled or disabled? If enabled, have you created CHLAUTH rules to allow the SVRCONN channel?

One more time, navigate down the filesystem path to the ERRORS directory for the qmgr - the AMQERR01.LOG file is the current errors file. What error(s) are logged for this (or any) channel?
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 31

@Morag, I'm seeing the below error on client side and my telnet is not going through.

9/26/2016 12:36:01 - Process(6836.1) User(myusername) Program(amqsputc.exe) Host(myhostname) Installation(Installation1) VRMF(8.0.0.4)

Slow DNS lookup for address '192.168.11.129'.

An attempt to resolve address '192.168.11.129' using the 'getnameinfo' function call took 5 seconds to complete. This might indicate a problem with the DNS configuration.

Ensure that DNS is correctly configured on the local system. &P If the address was an IP address then the slow operation was a reverse DNS lookup. Some DNS configurations are not capable of reverse DNS lookups and some IP addresses have no valid reverse DNS entries. If the problem persists, consider disabling reverse DNS lookups until the issue with the DNS can be resolved.


9/26/2016 12:36:01 - Process(6836.1) User(myusername) Program(amqsputc.exe) Host(myhostname) Installation(Installation1) VRMF(8.0.0.4)

Remote host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' not available, retry later.

The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' for channel QM1.CHL was not successful. However the error may be a transitory one and it may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation later. &P In some cases the remote host cannot be determined and so is shown as '????'.

Try the connection again later. If the failure persists, record the error values and contact your systems administrator. The return code from TCP/IP is 10060 (X'274C'). The reason for the failure may be that this host cannot reach the destination host. It may also be possible that the listening program at host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' was not running. If this is the case, perform the relevant operations to start the TCP/IP listening program, and try again.

QMGR listener is running fine.

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed

Could someone tell how to fix this please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 303
Location: England majority USA the rest..

<C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed >

Thats your problem

1 Ensure the Listener is running on your MQ Server

If Yes

Fix your network / firewall / routing between your VM and O/S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 665
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

rammer wrote:
<C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed >

Thats your problem

1 Ensure the Listener is running on your MQ Server

If Yes

Fix your network / firewall / routing between your VM and O/S


Can you ping the connection from your client box?

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 31

Can you ping the connection from your client box?

Cheers
Morag[/quote


Yes, Morag. I can ping it fine, but can't telnet. Looks like the Linux box hosting MQ server doesn't have telnet program and I can't download.

C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ping 192.168.11.129

Pinging 192.168.11.129 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.11.129:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:04 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 665
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers?

Ping is the usual trick, but of course it doesn't involve the port number.

The other trick you can use is to point your browser at the IP address and listener port. If connectivity is successful you will cause an FDC to be generated because the MQ listener will not understand the HTTP sent by the browser, but at least you'll know you have connectivity to that port.

The other thing that I wonder about us that you are using 192.168 addresses. These are usually a private network. Is there any chance that you have two unconnected private networks and that when you run the ping, you're actually pinging a different machine on the same network that your client is on rather than actually pinging the queue manager machine? The test with the browser using the listener port will show this up where ping would not.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:29 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 31

hughson wrote:
MQMB&WAS wrote:
Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers?

Ping is the usual trick, but of course it doesn't involve the port number.

The other trick you can use is to point your browser at the IP address and listener port. If connectivity is successful you will cause an FDC to be generated because the MQ listener will not understand the HTTP sent by the browser, but at least you'll know you have connectivity to that port.

The other thing that I wonder about us that you are using 192.168 addresses. These are usually a private network. Is there any chance that you have two unconnected private networks and that when you run the ping, you're actually pinging a different machine on the same network that your client is on rather than actually pinging the queue manager machine? The test with the browser using the listener port will show this up where ping would not.

Cheers
Morag



I tried to point the browser to the IP address, port number of my mq server, but it wasn't loading anything and I didn't see any fdcs on the server side either. Looks like some firewall rule is blocking traffic to the server.
However, it is able to receive inbound traffic. So I installed mq server on my windows and mq client on VMware (Linux) and I"m able to test the configuration fine.

Thanks for all your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ API SupportMQCONNX ended with reason code 2538
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.