ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportUpgrade - MQ to 9.0

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
Upgrade - MQ to 9.0 View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
nisharg
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:05 am Post subject: Upgrade - MQ to 9.0 Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Mar 2015
Posts: 11

Hi MQ Gurus,

I am going to work on exciting task of upgrading MQ 7.0.1.10 to MQ 9.0.

I am looking for any guidance or things to keep in mind.

Please update this thread with all your valuable suggestions and points or links that will help.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

1) run saveqmgr to extract your configuration
2) backup the QMGR Data directories and LOG directories
once you move to a higher version there is no going back
3) Test, test and test again. Then document, document and get someone to test against your doc before doing it on PROD
4) Follow your docs to the letter. No shortcuts because you have done this before. You will more than likely forget some essential step.

5) Don't be afraid to make mistakes and have to go back and start again.

Remember that 7.0 can't co-exist with later versions. Think carefully about setting up a POC server that will allow you to make mistakes.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 343
Location: England majority USA the rest..

smdavies99 wrote:
1)
Remember that 7.0 can't co-exist with later versions.


Cant Version in the post 7.0.1.10 co-exist? Im sure we did a couple of years ago although we only ran alongside 7.5. Is it due to user wanting to go to 9 ? (not looked at 9 yet)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

7.0 can't but 7.1 can co exist.

However the on disk structures for the QMGRS changes the first time the QMGR is started with the new Version (as in major version change) so you can't go back without restoring the backup of the files that should have been done before starting.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17448

I think dmqmqcfg will work as a client and still talk to a v7 qmgr?

It otherwise looks like saveqmgr has vanished into the wind. I'll see about putting it in Git.
_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markt
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 387

Quote:
7.0 can't but 7.1 can co exist.

7.0.1.6 will coexist with later versions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

markt wrote:
Quote:
7.0 can't but 7.1 can co exist.

7.0.1.6 will coexist with later versions


Ok.

Am I right in saying that you sill can't revert to 7.0.1.6 after runnnig a later (eg 7.5, 8.0 or 9.0) because of the on disk changes?
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 343
Location: England majority USA the rest..

smdavies99 wrote:
markt wrote:
Quote:
7.0 can't but 7.1 can co exist.

7.0.1.6 will coexist with later versions



Am I right in saying that you sill can't revert to 7.0.1.6 after runnnig a later (eg 7.5, 8.0 or 9.0) because of the on disk changes?


If you install 9 and run a new queue manager (different name) on the same machine as 7.x then they co-exist. If you then choose migrate QM option on your 7.x QM to functionality of 9 then yes no rollback without backups etc etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

rammer wrote:

If you install 9 and run a new queue manager (different name) on the same machine as 7.x then they co-exist. If you then choose migrate QM option on your 7.x QM to functionality of 9 then yes no rollback without backups etc etc.


The original post in this thread said,

Quote:
I am going to work on exciting task of upgrading MQ 7.0.1.10 to MQ 9.0.


That in my mind means upgrading the existing MQ Queue Manager as well as the software.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nisharg
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Mar 2015
Posts: 11

Lot of great information being shared. Thanks to all.

smdavies99 wrote:

That in my mind means upgrading the existing MQ Queue Manager as well as the software.

Plan is to upgrade the software and QMGRs. But in case of any issues rollback to what it was earlier.

I am afraid of below though. Are there any options.

smdavies99 wrote:

once you move to a higher version there is no going back
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:14 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

nisharg wrote:
Lot of great information being shared. Thanks to all.

smdavies99 wrote:

That in my mind means upgrading the existing MQ Queue Manager as well as the software.

Plan is to upgrade the software and QMGRs. But in case of any issues rollback to what it was earlier.

I am afraid of below though. Are there any options.

smdavies99 wrote:

once you move to a higher version there is no going back


I did give you the rollback in this case.

Backup the Queue Manager data and log files before you upgrade. Then you can go back to the old version by restoring the backups.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5579
Location: UK

7.0.1.6 or later will tolerate a secondary install.

However you cannot install or remove any 7.0.1.x installation without first removing all other MQ installations first due to the way the installer works.

Correct me if I am wrong about that.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:50 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 343
Location: England majority USA the rest..

zpat wrote:
7.0.1.6 or later will tolerate a secondary install.

However you cannot install or remove any 7.0.1.x installation without first removing all other MQ installations first due to the way the installer works.

Correct me if I am wrong about that.


On AIX I installed 7.5 alongside 7.0.1.6 and had Queue Managers running under 7.0.1.6 and 7.5, once we were happy we migrated flows to 7.5 leaving 7.0* redundant then carried out un-installation of mq 7.0. No issues were seen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:59 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19433
Location: LI,NY

rammer wrote:

On AIX I installed 7.5 alongside 7.0.1.6 and had Queue Managers running under 7.0.1.6 and 7.5, once we were happy we migrated flows to 7.5 leaving 7.0* redundant then carried out un-installation of mq 7.0. No issues were seen.


Please refresh my memory. Is the change of setting the primary system only relevant to the windows platform? You do not mention it in your migration...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5756

fjb_saper wrote:
Please refresh my memory. Is the change of setting the primary system only relevant to the windows platform? You do not mention it in your migration...

As far as I am aware, where V7.0.x is installed it will always be the Primary, irrespective of distributed platform.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportUpgrade - MQ to 9.0
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.