ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMigration of MQ from 7.0.0.2 to 7.5 on AIX MAHACMP

Post new topicReply to topic
Migration of MQ from 7.0.0.2 to 7.5 on AIX MAHACMP View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
narik
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:05 am Post subject: Migration of MQ from 7.0.0.2 to 7.5 on AIX MAHACMP Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

Hi All,

We are planning to upgrade MQ on AIX HACMP from 7.0.0.2 to 7.5 .We are currently using the MC91 support pack and on a simple stand bye model. I have a few basic questions
1) Does the support pack still exits on 7.5
2) Does MQ 7.5 migration will detect the previous installations or we need to uninstall and install the new version.We use smitty here.
3) Are there any scripts provided on 7.5 like they provided for MC91 for creating the queue managers
4)any documented steps will be much appreciated

please be patience with me as i know many people would have asked the same question,if that is the case please provide me the previous links.This is my first post.Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:21 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

You can use multi-instance qmgrs instead of traditionally HA qmgs.

If you want to continue to use HACMP (and there are some advantages to doing so, and some disadvantages), then there are instructions in the knowledge center.
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q017830_.htm

The addition of multi-instance capabilities made it much easier to create HA qmgrs, you basically just use the same commands as creating multi-instance qmgrs, and then configure things with your HA tool (HACMP in your case).
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:44 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

HI Mqjeff,

Thank for the reply.So we need to uninstall the old one and need to go with a fresh installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

No.

MQ versions can coexist installations on the same machine, and have differently named queue managers in each installation on the same machine.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

I completely agree with you,but creating a different queue manager name is the real trick as most of our company standards use the box name as the queue manager name and if i create a new queue manger then the name need to change on many application end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

Ok.

You can leave the two installations on the box, and stop the qmgr in one installation and start it in a new one.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

mqjeff wrote:
You can leave the two installations on the box, and stop the qmgr in one installation and start it in a new one.




That's how we do it
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:28 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:53 pm Post subject: You can leave the two installations on the box, and stop the Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

Is that mean ,install the 7.5 under the stand by node and run the addmqinf on the active server and test it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:55 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1722
Location: Melbourne, Australia

I don't think MQ v7.0.0.2 supports multiple installs, so you will need to uninstall and then install the new MQ 7.5.
Talk to your UNIX engineer about migrating to PowerHA from the ancient MC61 HACMP supportpac. The setup / operation uses similar principles.
Initial HA setup is very simple under MQ 7.5 using "dspmqinf -o command" and "addmqinf" commands.

I would not move to Multi-Instance-MQ, it is more cumbersome and less reliable than a proper system HA setup.

The normal procedure would be to install MQ 7.5 on the passive node, fail over the queue manager (converts its objects to MQ 7.5 format), install MQ 7.5 on new passive node, and then fail back to this node. QED.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

Hi gbaddeley,

Thank you very much for the reply.you helped me in clarifying major doubts.Its MC91 the version we are using now .You are mentioning to install the mq on passive mode and at the same time u r recommending to uninstall before install 7.5.Basically we dont want to change the queue manager name and can we do it with out down time? Any details steps would me much appreciated.you can drop to my email:narikagan29@gmail.com.Thank you once again for the post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:45 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1722
Location: Melbourne, Australia

narik wrote:
Hi gbaddeley,
Thank you very much for the reply.you helped me in clarifying major doubts.Its MC91 the version we are using now .You are mentioning to install the mq on passive mode and at the same time u r recommending to uninstall before install 7.5.Basically we dont want to change the queue manager name and can we do it with out down time? Any details steps would me much appreciated.you can drop to my email:narikagan29@gmail.com.Thank you once again for the post

Uninstalling MQ does not remove the queue manager config and data. However, when the qmgr is first started on MQ v7.5, it will migrate some data to a new format which is not backward compatible with older versions. See the MQ knowledge center for more info on migration.
The only downtime is the time it takes to fail over the cluster. The queue manager may only be down for a minute or two, YMMV.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narik
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:40 pm Post subject: Uninstalling MQ does not remove the queue manager config and Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

Hi glenn,

Your are mentioning about uninstalling,so here are my ideas..as we are in active/passive modeand on passive mode halinkmqm script has been executed so technically MQ is not installed over there hence with out uninstalling any thing on passive i will install MQ 7.5 on that box During this phase hopefully i dont need to create a new queue manager instead i need to relate the old qmgr to the new version and then use dspmqinf -o command and use addmqinf on the active server.During this phase on active server do i need to stop qmgr and unistall the MQ?or is better to use non interactive installation .Please guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:45 pm Post subject: Re: Uninstalling MQ does not remove the queue manager config Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1722
Location: Melbourne, Australia

narik wrote:
Hi glenn,
Your are mentioning about uninstalling,so here are my ideas..as we are in active/passive modeand on passive mode halinkmqm script has been executed so technically MQ is not installed over there hence with out uninstalling any thing on passive i will install MQ 7.5 on that box During this phase hopefully i dont need to create a new queue manager instead i need to relate the old qmgr to the new version and then use dspmqinf -o command and use addmqinf on the active server.During this phase on active server do i need to stop qmgr and unistall the MQ?or is better to use non interactive installation .Please guide

Narik, I can't really advise what your organisation should do. Please consult with your MQ specialists. Normally the MQ installation is not under HA control, it exists on both nodes, eg. /usr/mqm. The HA MQ component is the HA cluster disk(s) that contains the queue manager data and logs directories. The qms.ini file should identify these.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMigration of MQ from 7.0.0.2 to 7.5 on AIX MAHACMP
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.