ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Security » Communcation between z/os and suse Linux queue manager

Communcation between z/os and suse Linux queue manager « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
kalam475
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 3:10 am    Post subject: Communcation between z/os and suse Linux queue manager Reply with quote

Acolyte

Hi,
I am fairly new to MQ I need suggestion from any one of you on below mentioned problem.

I want to connect my Queue manager which is on SUSE Linux to be connected to Queue manager sitting on Z/os mainframes. They are saying it is not safe to use the channels(Sender-Reciver) in mainframes due to security reasons. They are suggesting to implement gateway queue manager concept. I am little confused here, we are using 7.5.0.5 version in SUSE Linux i thought from version 6 the gateway queue manager's are replaced by some parameter.Is gateway queue manager is different from cluster? Please guide me on this

thanks in advance
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Quote:
"...due to "security reasons".

Could you (or they) be any more vague?

Unless we know what specific security reason they are trying to mitigate, its hard for us to comment.

I struggle to determine what could be done more securely from an MQ perspective with a 3rd Queue Manager connected to their z/OS Queue Manager instead of your SUSE queue manager if SNDR/RCVR channels are used in both cases.

Need more details to provide more feedback...
smdavies99