ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » How to pass ROW to procedure

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to pass ROW to procedure « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
saikrishna
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:21 am    Post subject: How to pass ROW to procedure Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 21

while passing ROW to a procedure getting error.
Posting both code snippet and error. please help on this

CREATE PROCEDURE CopyEntireMessage() BEGIN
DECLARE x ROW;
set x=ROW('a','b');
CALL CallMessage(x);
END;
CREATE PROCEDURE CallMessage (IN x ROW)
BEGIN

No errors, but while depploying into EG am getting below error:

Syntax error : 'keyword Row'.
The token caused a syntax error.
Correct the syntax of your ESQL expression in node '.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

Please do not open another thread when the other one is still active especially where you ask exactly the same question as you have done in the other thread.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saikrishna
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 21

Look brother never classify any question as silly or excellent. there is no rule that every one should know everything. am new to ESQL.
If you know solution please post.
am expecting solution not non sense.
first u know basis purpose of any forums.
forums are open to share and discuss.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saikrishna
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 21

I got a solution: I declared param type as reference istead of row in procedure declaration as below. now it is working.

CREATE PROCEDURE CopyEntireMessage() BEGIN
DECLARE x ROW;
set x=ROW('a','b');
CALL CallMessage(x);
END;
CREATE PROCEDURE CallMessage (IN x REFERENCE)
BEGIN

can any one please tell what was the flaw I did previously ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

saikrishna wrote:
Look brother never classify any question as silly or excellent. there is no rule that every one should know everything. am new to ESQL.
If you know solution please post.
am expecting solution not non sense.
first u know basis purpose of any forums.
forums are open to share and discuss.


nowhere did I comment on your question directly. I was merely pointing out that postinbg the same question in two different threads is not how we do things around here. I started my post with 'Please'. I can't really be more polite that that.

Most, if not all of those who respond to questions here also have their job to do. We post here because we want to share our knowledge and understanding of the product with others.
However, we are not here to do your job for you. In many cases we may give you hints about the solution so that you can learn for yourself which you seem to have managed in this case.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saikrishna
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 21

Yeah no more comments ....

So can you provide hint or solution why I got that error while passing a ROW type and catching that as ROW in procedure ?

DECLARE x ROW;
set x=ROW('a','b');
CALL CallMessage(x);
END;
CREATE PROCEDURE CallMessage (IN x ROW)

Same way why I didnt got any error while catching that as REFERENCE

DECLARE x ROW;
set x=ROW('a','b');
CALL CallMessage(x);
END;
CREATE PROCEDURE CallMessage (IN x REFERENCE)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

Obviously this is an question for you.
So going back to the Infocenter, what are the approved datatypes for parameters for a procedure call???

[last chance before you get moderated], just because you don't like the answer doesn't mean the answer was not accurate
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » How to pass ROW to procedure
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.