ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportWebSphere MQ for Linux - Automatic Startup (SupportPac MSL1)

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
WebSphere MQ for Linux - Automatic Startup (SupportPac MSL1) View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
bhigdon
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:34 am Post subject: WebSphere MQ for Linux - Automatic Startup (SupportPac MSL1) Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

Hi. I was recently installing IBM MQ 8.0 on RHEL 6.0. I looked at the subject SupportPac, which is found at:

https://www-304.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg24016554

It had the following cryptic comment:

Quote:
Please note this SupportPac has limited capability if using with versions of MQ later than 7.0.1.


I didn't know what it meant by "limited capability" so I didn't install it. I did submit a comment but I haven't heard back from IBM.

Does anyone know what the restrictions are if using this SupportPac with IBM MQ 8.0? Is it worth installing for the features that do work?

Thanks.

Benny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:00 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7845
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Did you read this part:

Quote:
Prerequisites

LSB-compliant Linux system
WebSphere MQ v6.0

So, any new features and capabilities after v6.0 are not supported. Are you asking us to research for you exactly what those features and capabilities are?
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17448

Presumably it hasn't been modified to deal with multiple/non-default installations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bhigdon
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

Bruce,

Yes, I saw that. AFAIK, RHEL 6 is a LSB-compliant Linux system. As for the reference to WMQ 6, IBM is notorious for not updating all the references; for example, if you look on the right-hand side, you'll see:

Quote:
Software version:
6.0, 6.0.1, 6.0.2, 7.0, 7.0.1


When they say that:

Quote:
Please note this SupportPac has limited capability if using with versions of MQ later than 7.0.1.


To me, this means that it might work with versions of WMQ after 7.0.1.

I was not expecting anyone to do any research, I was hoping that someone might know what the limitations are.

FWIW, I downloaded the SupportPac and looked at the documentation and even the code. I didn't see anything that would be version specific but I don't claim to be a MQ expert.

Benny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bhigdon
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:29 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

Jeff,

I bet that's it. When I looked at the code, it had a hard-coded value for the installation directory. And, IIRC, the configuration file for specifying which queue managers to start didn't have anything about to which installation they belong.

Benny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:15 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19382
Location: LI,NY

is there anything about using strtmqm -x ? like starting a multi-instance qmgr?
About running setmqenv -m <qmgr> before running the start command for the qmgr?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bhigdon
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:29 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

No. All of the commands are hard coded to the old default installation path. For example, here's the start command that's used:

Code:
su mqm -s /bin/sh -c "/opt/mqm/bin/strmqm $QM" > /dev/null 2>&1


The $QM variable is set based on the input and there's logic to get a list of queue managers if a "*" is specified; however, even this goes to the default location:

Code:
QUEUE_MANAGERS=`su mqm -s /bin/sh -c "/opt/mqm/bin/dspmq" | sed -e 's/^QMNAME(\([^)]*\)).*/\1/'`


So, I think that Jeff is right and the limitation is that it doesn't support multiple installations or an installation in a non-default location.

Benny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:52 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19382
Location: LI,NY

you can always update and change them to suit your particular needs... I usually do as I like the startup script to call a script the MQ admin can control and thus determine without having to bother the system admins which qmgrs get started automatically and which don't... etc...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tczielke
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:42 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 653
Location: Illinois, USA

We have had some issues in the recent past with MSL1 package not migrating forward correctly with recent SLES fixpacks. This left the MSL1 start up scripts in a deleted state, and our queue managers would not start when the server was rebooted. I have a project next year to bag it from our Linux environments. I personally wouldn't use MSL1 any more, since it does not seem to be supported any longer by IBM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7845
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

tczielke wrote:
... since it does not seem to be supported any longer by IBM.

As it states in the url cited above:
Quote:
Category 2 SupportPacs are provided in good faith and AS-IS. There is no warranty or further service implied or committed and any supplied sample code is not supported via IBM product service channels.

_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amitjain
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 39

"IBM MSL1: WebSphere MQ for Linux - Automatic Startup"

I am planning to add below line in start and stop function the shell script provided in MSL1 support pac , please suggest if it is the right way to do after strmqm and endmqm

function start_qm()

/app/mqm/bin/runmqlsr -t tcp -m TEST_QM -p 2515 &
STAT=$?
if test $STAT -eq 0 ; then
log_success_msg "Queue manager TEST_QM started listening on port 2515"
elif test $STAT -eq 10 ; then
log_warning_msg "Command completed with unexpected results"
elif test $STAT -eq 20 ; then
log_warning_msg "An error occurred during processing: the AMQMSRVN process did not start"
else
log_failure_msg "Listening on port 2515 for queue manager TEST_QM failed (rc=$STAT)"
fi



and in function stop_qm()

/app/mqm/bin/endmqlsr -w -m TEST_GTX_QM
STAT=$?
if test $STAT -eq 0 ; then
log_success_msg "Queue manager TEST_QM ended listening on port 2515"
elif test $STAT -eq 10 ; then
log_warning_msg "Command completed with unexpected results"
elif test $STAT -eq 20 ; then
log_warning_msg "An error occurred during processing "
else
log_failure_msg "Listening on port 2515 for queue manager TEST_QM failed (rc=$STAT)"
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:40 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17448

You shouldn't need to use runmqlsr with MQ v8.

You should be able to create the necessary LISTENER object and configure it to start when the queue manager does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amitjain
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 39

Thanks mqjeff.

I have now used runmqsc command to create the listener. So it looks I can now directly use the MSL1 support pac. sharing mqsc command for other people reference.


define listener(CMAP_LISTENER) TRPTYPE(TCP) port(2515) control(qmgr)
end
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:01 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19382
Location: LI,NY

I believe, on a multi-installation machine you will still need to set the environment before starting the qmgr...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5559
Location: UK

What is the approved method of auto-starting QMs these days?

It's pretty basic and essential functionality.

I've used MSL1 with MQ 7.5.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportWebSphere MQ for Linux - Automatic Startup (SupportPac MSL1)
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.