ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Performance MonitoringApplication Activity Trace - Keeps going and going....

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2
Application Activity Trace - Keeps going and going.... View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

Connect Options: 320
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 749
Location: Illinois, USA

That converts to the following:

mqoptions.win.exe connect 320
connect options for decimal value 320 converts to:
MQCNO_HANDLE_SHARE_BLOCK
MQCNO_SHARED_BINDING

I wouldn't have expected it, but just wanted to confirm that the MQCNO_ACTVITY_TRACE_ENABLED option was not being set.

This sounds like a potential bug based on everything you have mentioned so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 749
Location: Illinois, USA

Have you also tried the following to exclude MQ Exporer in the mqat.ini, to see if that works?

ApplName=MQ Explorer 8.0.0

or maybe

ApplName='MQ Explorer 8.0.0'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:11 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

both and further MQ* and 'MQ*' nothing seems to work.

On Windows this appl name is also not like this but the process name with path from right hand side, but mqexplorer* works to block the logging in AAT.
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:28 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 749
Location: Illinois, USA

That does sound like a potential bug.

I am not sure exactly what you are trying to do, but is one option to have an ApplicationTrace stanza where ApplName=* is OFF and then explicitly list other ApplicationTrace stanzas where ApplName=progname is ON? Maybe that is too cumbersome, but that would block the MQ Explorer activity trace records, if it is not too hard to explicitly list the applications to turn on.

Also, if you are trying to exclude activity trace records to make the amqsact data easier to handle, you may want to check out the amqactz source code -> http://www.capitalware.com/mq_code_c.html

amqsactz are enhancements I have made to amqsact to make it easier to work with the AAT data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:44 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

I was chasing something and MQExplorer was cluttering my trace, so trying to stop it using the same profile as amqsact. On Windows this was fine, but on Linux failed.
I thought of blocking * too, but then how to enable the once you are 'looking' for when you don't see them ? so a little cumbersome...

I will see if I can raise a pmr via current client...
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:55 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 749
Location: Illinois, USA

I would say check out the amqsactz program. I just turn the activity trace wide open when I need to look into issues, and the amqsactz allows you to quickly pull out the data that you need, even with all the other "junk" in the trace.

There is a -r option that produces reports that:
1. Summarize all of the applications that appeared in the trace
2. What objects, channels and operations the applications referenced.
3. What options (with constants expanded) were used for those objects and operations (i.e. what were the PUT options found for when this application x referenced queue y).

It also extends the one line summary records to include an eye catcher, channel name, connection name, and record number. The eye catcher is used to be able to pull all of your one line summary records into a one line summary report. The record number can be used to quickly index back into the verbose report for an API you want to further research. The channel and connection data can be used to further select on your one line summary records.

The MQ Problem Determination With Tracing on Linux session in this link covers this more in detail -> http://www.mqtechconference.com/sessions.html

I would be happy to answer any other questions you have, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2 Page 2 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Performance MonitoringApplication Activity Trace - Keeps going and going....
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.