ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Database integration: ESQL vs Database nodes

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Database integration: ESQL vs Database nodes « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Gideon
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Database integration: ESQL vs Database nodes Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

I can either use ESQL with ODBC or Database nodes withJDBC to provide database integration

Which would be the most commonly used interface ?

I would assume that 80 percent of people use ESQL, Would that be correct ? (more or less)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

If your incoming tree has datatypes more compatible with the database, DB nodes are very convenient.

If your incoming tree needs alot of massaging to get the right data for DB consumption, ESQL is better.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Gideon
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

The documentation mentions ODBC and the DB nodes. I thought you could only use the DB nodes with JDBC from previous conversations

Are the DB nodes ODBC, or do I have to write a new JDBC connection ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

The DatabaseRetrieve and DatabaseRoute nodes use JDBC. The other Database nodes use ODBC.

You are not, generally, able to use JDBC from within ESQL. You can use JDBC from within a JavaCompute node, and Broker can create and manage the JDBC connections for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gideon
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

Can the Database node use ODBC, JDBC, or either ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Gideon wrote:
Can the Database node use ODBC, JDBC, or either ?


There are at least 7 database nodes.

The node named EXACTLY "DatabaseRetrieve" uses JDBC.

The node named EXACTLY "DatabaseRoute" uses JDBC.

The OTHER Database nodes use ODBC.

Which node, specifically, do you mean by "Database" node? The node named EXACTLY "Database"? How is that not one of "the other Database nodes"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gideon
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

So apparently the JDBC nodes are:

Code:
  DatabaseRetrieve
  DatabaseRoute


and the ODBC nodes are:

Code:
  Database
  DataDelete
  DataInsert
  DataUpdate


I want to use a database node to pull data from a table using ODBC
So the DatabaseRetrieve node is out

I checked on the Database node, and the doc stated:

Code:
You define the nature of the interaction by coding ESQL statements that specify the data from the input message, and perhaps transform it in some way (for example, to perform a calculation), and assign the result to a database table.


Is therre a database node other than DatabaseRetrieve that does not use JDBC, but ODBC that you can pull data from a table with. I know I can do this with a Compute node, but are there any other nodes I can pull data from a table with ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

The Database node will retrieve data from a database using an ESQL SELECT statement.

It will also allow you to insert data into a database using an ESQL INSERT or UPDATE statement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gideon
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

Thanks, just one last question

Why does WMB provide a DatabaseRetrieve node using JDBC, but not a corresponding DB node for ODBC ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nits_018
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 9:49 am    Post subject: insert opertion on DB2 database using JDBC provider Via ESQL Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 34

Hi guys,

Thanks for this topic it clears a lot of things. I have one small query:

I want to perform a Database insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL using a JDBC provider.

Is there a way out for this or i hav to use JCN only.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 10:30 am    Post subject: Re: insert opertion on DB2 database using JDBC provider Via Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

nits_018 wrote:
Thanks for this topic it clears a lot of things. I have one small query:

I want to perform a Database insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL using a JDBC provider.

Is there a way out for this or i hav to use JCN only.


Did you read the thread? How can things be clear and you ask that?

There's no way out for you. You can't use the ESQL statement you say you want to use inside a JCN. You can only use Java inside a JCN.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

nits_018 doesn't want to use ESQL from within a JCN.

nits_018 wants to use a JDBC datasource from within ESQL.

Can't do that, either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nits_018
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 34

@all
Thanks for replying

@mqjeff
So now my requirement is to perform insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL. How can i accomplish that as i do not want to use JCN in my flow.
Please provide your valuable inputs on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

nits_018 wrote:

So now my requirement is to perform insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL. How can i accomplish that as i do not want to use JCN in my flow.
Please provide your valuable inputs on it


Have you looked at the facilities of the ESQL Language to see if you can do this?

The InfoCentre can really help here.

There are also many posts on this forum about DB access. Why not spend some time reviewing them and thinking about your problem?
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nits_018
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 34

Yaa..I have done that and by which i am sure that via ESQL i can perform DB2 database operation..but i am stuck in very silly problem of identifying how to connect to DB2 via ODBC driver. I searched in the infocenter i found that we have a IBM DB2 ODBC driver. So hunt is on from my side but any inputs from you guys will def act as a catalyst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Database integration: ESQL vs Database nodes
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.