ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Performance Monitoring » Warn on Queue inactivity

Warn on Queue inactivity « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
taea00
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:36 am    Post subject: Warn on Queue inactivity Reply with quote

Hello, I'm new to monitoring and very new to MQ. I use ITM for monitoring and need to set up monitoring for MQ. Is there a way to monitor a specific queue for inactivity and then warn if it's been inactive after a few hours?

Thanks!
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Define "inactive"?

You can certainly set up an alert that checks the results of a reset qstats and responds to the fact that there have been no PUTS and no GETS on a queue in a certain period of time.

But that might not mean that the queue is "inactive". it might just mean that it's tuesday at 3pm and the apps making use of the queue are in their maintenance window and everything is perfectly normal.
taea00
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not totally sure how the queues work, this project was dropped in my lap the day I started and the guy that was working on it is on vacation for a month, but I believe by inactive they mean the queue has not received any information in like 2 hours?
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master