ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere DataPowerDatapower-MQ- design performance question

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2
Datapower-MQ- design performance question View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:22 am Post subject: Re: DataPower with MQ Cluster Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Vitor wrote:
anveshita wrote:
APP3 responds to the cluster RSP1 so the response may end up either at RSP1/QM1 or RSP1/QM2.


Yes, we got that.


To repeat.

We understand that the app is using a cluster definition to send the reply message.

This is the wrong thing to do. The app should be using the replytoq and replytoqmgr that is specified in the individual message. As long as it specifies both the queue and queue manager name, the cluster definition will *NOT* be used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anveshita
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:27 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 244
Location: Jambudweepam

Vitor:
But when using the cluster, when APP3 responds, the message could get to either RSP1/QM1 or RSP1/QM2. We could restrict the APP3 to respond to RSP1/QM1 or RSP1/QM2. I think you need to change the MQOD. If we do that the response flow becomes point-to-point and does not use the Cluster advantages. Hence I was asking the question will DP be able to monitor multiple queues for a response to a given request.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:55 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25165
Location: Ohio, USA

anveshita wrote:
We could restrict the APP3 to respond to RSP1/QM1 or RSP1/QM2.


Or you could change APP3 to respond to either RSP1/QM1 or RSP1/QM2 as required by the request; i.e. reply to the request. Like you're using request/reply. Crazy eh?

anveshita wrote:
If we do that the response flow becomes point-to-point and does not use the Cluster advantages.


Let's be clear on terms here. The response is not point to point in the WMQ sense because it still traverses the cluster; it doesn't require anything else configured so you gain that advantage of the cluster. It's point to point because response goes from the responder to the requestor that's listening for it. If you want to use the load balancing advantage of the cluster for the responses as well as the requests then you need to abandon the sync request/reply model you're using and switch to an async one.

If you stick with the current model even though it's "point to point" remember you can still get cluster advantage by scaling it with another instance of APP3 on QM4 & no other changes aside from adding QM4 to the cluster.

anveshita wrote:
Hence I was asking the question will DP be able to monitor multiple queues for a response to a given request.


Again, I doubt it because the model you're using is a sync model where the response is directed to a given queue where the requestor is waiting for it.

You're trying to do async request/reply with a sync code model. This will not work. You need one or the other, and IMHO the code model you have now is best.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

APP3 is doing the wrong thing.

If you configure datapower to read from both queue managers, and it is indeed possible, then all that this will do is make the problem worse.

Because by doing that, you can end up having a request sent by DP1 to APP3, and then load balanced by the cluster back to QM1, but then instead of being picked up by DP1, it is picked up by DP2.

Please either stop repeating the problem or try harder to listen to the answer.

APP3 is doing the wrong thing.

APP3 should be using the ReplyToQ and ReplyToQmgr fields of the MQMD that arrives on the request message, and using those to address the response message.

ANY OTHER SOLUTION IS THE WRONG SOLUTION.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:11 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25165
Location: Ohio, USA

mqjeff wrote:
Please either stop repeating the problem or try harder to listen to the answer.




mqjeff wrote:
ANY OTHER SOLUTION IS THE WRONG SOLUTION.




Unless you switch methods and use an async model. Which I'm uncertain is possible with DP and is certainly more trouble than using your current set up correctly.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2 Page 2 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere DataPowerDatapower-MQ- design performance question
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.