ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Rules

Rules « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
divakar45
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2001 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

I'm just beginning an architectural view of a business process and have several questions. The definition of 'rule' is a 'series of processes.' So a message flow is a rule as I see it, correct? I understand that I can invoke mqsi thru the MQI and AMI, and that I can create new processing nodes. Is it possible to create 'rules' on the fly??. Some of these basic concepts are paramount to good architecture.
Thanks,
Jac
CodeCraft
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2001 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

You cannot construct complete message flows on the fly. However, the broker allows for significant dynamic runtime decision making to be made based on the content of the actual messages.

Further, many products of this nature are 80%'ers, that is, it embodies the most commonly required functionality but also allows you to create plugins to tailor/alter the behaviour to match specific requirements.

Finally, while you cannot construct complete flows dynamically, the ESQL language has an EVAL() function, which allows you to dymically take a string and then execute the string as if it is ESQL code.

Theoretically, you could use a series of EVALs in a node to generate completely dynamic code in compute nodes. The required ESQL code in effect be sent to the broker with a message!