ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
smithamd
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:45 pm    Post subject: Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 7

I am not well versed with MQ. So pardon me if this is a simple thing.
We are using MQ version 7. I am seeing an error in our code stating that it failed to put message in dead letter queue with reason code of 2053. 2053 seems like a queue full error. But when I try to look at this queue in explorer the queue depth is 0. I am not sure why it shows full if the queue depth is 0.

Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

You are quite correct that the reason code 2053 is MQRC_Q_FULL.

It is possible that the queue is full of uncommitted messages.

Try the following command against the queue that is being reported as full.

Code:
DISPLAY QSTATUS(q-name) UNCOM


The UNCOM attribute shows if there are any uncommitted messages on the queue.

If this doesn't show any issues the other problem that I can think it might be is that the code is reporting it hit the queue full condition, but it has already over-written the queue name with the DLQ name when printing out the error statement. Perhaps it had a queue full condition with another queue, then a failure to put to the DLQ for some other reason (e.g. authority) and the error it reported was a mixture of the two problems.

N.B. If there was an authority failure to put to the DLQ that will be reported in your Queue Manager error logs.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

@morag I thought uncommitted messages were part of the qdepth??

I suspect your second hypothesis is the right one.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
smithamd
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 7

This is what i see in MQ errors

AMQ7307: A message could not be put on the dead-letter queue.

EXPLANATION:
The attempt to put a message on the dead-letter queue ... on queue
manager ... failed with reason code 2053. The message will be discarded.
ACTION:
Ensure that the dead-letter queue is available and operational.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053 Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

smithamd wrote:
I am not well versed with MQ. So pardon me if this is a simple thing.
We are using MQ version 7. I am seeing an error in our code stating that it failed to put message in dead letter queue with reason code of 2053. 2053 seems like a queue full error. But when I try to look at this queue in explorer the queue depth is 0. I am not sure why it shows full if the queue depth is 0.

Any advice?

Which queue has depth of 0? What is MAXDEPTH of the queue?

Does the inbound channel go into RETRY and then STOPPED state? Is the SENDER channel set to NPMDPEED(FAST)? Are the messages being sent non-persistent?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.


Last edited by bruce2359 on Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

fjb_saper wrote:
@morag I thought uncommitted messages were part of the qdepth??

Uncommitted Puts will increase the curdepth and uncommitted gets will decrease the curdepth.

The OP has not shown us the output from the following command yet, I hope he will do this soon.

Code:
DISPLAY QSTATUS(q-name) UNCOM


If UNCOM shows uncommitted messages, it would seem likely that his Dead-Letter handler application is not committing the gets from the DLQ.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053 Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2492
Location: Melbourne, Australia

smithamd wrote:
I am not well versed with MQ. So pardon me if this is a simple thing. We are using MQ version 7. I am seeing an error in our code stating that it failed to put message in dead letter queue with reason code of 2053. 2053 seems like a queue full error. But when I try to look at this queue in explorer the queue depth is 0. I am not sure why it shows full if the queue depth is 0. Any advice?

Check the DEADQ attribute of the queue manager (DISPLAY QMGR DEADQ). It defines the name of the dead letter queue. It may not be SYSTEM.DEAD.LETTER.QUEUE, or it may not even be set at all.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithamd
PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 7

bruce2359- current depth of defined dead letter queue (named DLQ) is 0. max queue depth is defined as 50000. The messages are persistent.
Display on NMSPEED does not seem to have return any value.

hughson- the command RETURNS BELOW
CURDEPTH(0) UNCOM(NO)


gbaddeley- we have queue defined as DLQ which is what is being referred by q manager as dead letter queue.


our test environment seems to show messages in the dead letter queue. The difference in configuration between the queues i see is max depth events and high events are enabled in prod but not in test. Not sure what these do.


Last edited by smithamd on Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 939
Location: Illinois, USA

Do the messages have a short expiry on them? I was dealing with an issue recently where messages went to the D.L.Q. but they had a short expiry so it was difficult to catch them.

If you want to get cute, there are ways to use tracing and a "SLIP TRAP" on the error log to catch the messages, if you want to view them.
_________________
Working with MQ since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

smithamd wrote:
The difference in configuration between the queues i see is max depth events and high events are enabled in prod but not in test. Not sure what these do.


They make the queue manager write out event messages (to the event queue) when the queue hits 80% and 100% full. Used for monitoring and probably not connected to your problem unless your monitoring software does something unorthodox to resolve a max depth event (which it would have got).
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2492
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Is the TRIGGER attribute set on 'DLQ', or is it NOTRIGGER? There could be an app that is processing the messages, eg. runmqdlq

You could increase the MAXDEPTH on 'DLQ'. It should be set to a very high value (999999999), to avoid 2053 errors at all costs. The MAXMSGL should also be set to maximum (104857600).
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Unable to put messages to DLQ 2053
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.