ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexMainframe, CICS, TXSeriesActive logs out of order

Post new topicReply to topic
Active logs out of order View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MainframeMatt1978
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 12:06 pm Post subject: Active logs out of order Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Posts: 12

Hello,

I am trying to figure out the least disruptive process of fixing the order of my active logs for a running Queue Manager. I am running on z/OS 2.1 and MQ v8 in NEW FUNC mode. I have 8 byte RBA's and this QM is DEV/TEST. As you can see here, somehow the order got out of sequence:

Qmgr Copy Status Used Dataset-Name
QM1A 1 CURRENT 43% WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS01
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS04
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS05
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS06
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS02
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS08
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS07
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS03

I understand this is just a naming issue of the last qualifier, but I would like to fix this. Any suggestions? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 3:33 pm Post subject: Re: Active logs out of order Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MainframeMatt1978 wrote:
Hello,

I am trying to figure out the least disruptive process of fixing the order of my active logs for a running Queue Manager. I am running on z/OS 2.1 and MQ v8 in NEW FUNC mode. I have 8 byte RBA's and this QM is DEV/TEST. As you can see here, somehow the order got out of sequence:

Qmgr Copy Status Used Dataset-Name
QM1A 1 CURRENT 43% WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS01
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS04
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS05
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS06
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS02
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS08
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS07
. . REUSABLE WEBMQ.QM1AMSTR.LOGCOPY1.DS03

I understand this is just a naming issue of the last qualifier, but I would like to fix this. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Where are you seeing this output?

Are you seeing errors with CSQ prefix?

Other than looking out of alphabetic sequence, what other symptoms are you seeing?

Why does this need to be fixed?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 3:35 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Moved to Mainframe forum.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MainframeMatt1978
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 6:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Posts: 12

This output is from the MQLOGS command in CA-SYSVIEW.
No errors with the prefix. Like I said, the Queue manager is operating normally, the logs are flipping fine. The 4th qualifier in the DSN of the active logs is "DSNN" where NN is the number. We ran CSQJU003 against the BSDS to add the NEWLOGS in sequential order, i.e DS01, DS02, DS03.....

So not sure how we are going from DS06 > DS02 > DS08 > DS07.....as you can see in the output of the MQLOGS command.


Last edited by MainframeMatt1978 on Tue May 08, 2018 6:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 6:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MainframeMatt1978 wrote:
This output is from the MQLOGS command in CA-SYSVIEW.
No errors with the prefix. Like I said, the Queue manager is operating normally, the logs are flipping fine. The 4th qualifier in the DSN of the active logs is "DSNN" where NN is the number. We ran CSQJU003 against the BSDS to and the NEWLOGS in sequential order, i.e DS01, DS02, DS03.....

So not sure how we are going from DS06 > DS02 > DS08 > DS07.....as you can see in the output of the MQLOGS command.

So, if you run the IBM-supplied utility all looks good; but the CA-supplied utility shows different results. Hmmm. Perhaps you should contact the CA product support folks.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MainframeMatt1978
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 7:32 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Posts: 12

So I ran the Print log utility against the BSDS and yes it showed the log datasets in the order of the CA-SYSVIEW output command. So on my test lpar I just shut the QM down, ran a change log inventory against the BSDS and deleted all logs except DS01 (which I forced it to be on before I took the QM down) and then added the logs back in correct order. The QM started up normally. All fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 7:49 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MainframeMatt1978 wrote:
.. then added the logs back in correct order. The QM started up normally. All fixed.

Did it start abnormally before your log inventor changes? Or, is the out-of-sequence display the only symptom?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MainframeMatt1978
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 8:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Posts: 12

The out-of-sequence display was the only symptom. I looked back through the last few job logs of the queue manager going back over a year and this has been like this for a long time. No one every noticed it until now. So it was only a monitoring fix for our sanity. Thanks for everyone's help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 8:40 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MQ for z/OS opens datasets by their dataset name. The RBA determines which log dataset to open. While Ive not seen this symptom, I doubt it would affect restart recovery.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexMainframe, CICS, TXSeriesActive logs out of order
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.