ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Sending Msg to Multiple Queues

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Sending Msg to Multiple Queues « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
bbanks
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2002 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Jul 2001
Posts: 8
Location: Concord, CA

I currently have a setup with MQ on NT and two different AS/400's. The current setup sends msgs from the NT to one AS/400 just fine. We have a new AS/400 we've added that needs to "mock" the old AS/400 so we can eventually cut-over to the new box.

Does anyone know a way that I can configure MQ so that any message sent to the old AS/400 will also be sent to the new AS/400 ?

Thank you in advance.

Bob Banks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2002 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3253
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

MQ will not replicate or copy / move the same message to multiple destinations (except for Pub/Sub).

Awhile ago, I wrote a simple "Message Multiplexer" (MMX) to do the job. It is written in C and is cross-platform complaint. You can download it from my web site.
http://www.geocities.com/capitalware/mqseries.html

You can run it on WinNT or AS/400 (your choice). Basically, you need a handler queue for MMX to read from and it will send (replicate including the MQMD) the message to "n" queues (up to 99).

Later
Roger...


[ This Message was edited by: RogerLacroix on 2002-01-15 23:43 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NickB
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2002 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 20 May 2001
Posts: 107
Location: Zurich Financial Services

Distribution lists introduced with MQ version 5 will allow a single MQPUT to be directed to multiple queues. This does of course mean that you need to change your application to use the MQOR structure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbanks
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2002 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Jul 2001
Posts: 8
Location: Concord, CA

Thank you for your replies.

Is there anyway to do this using clustering so that the application could send to a cluster queue and when the old AS/400 is "turned off" it automatically goes to the new box ?

Thank you in advance.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
NickB
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 20 May 2001
Posts: 107
Location: Zurich Financial Services

Yes, clustering could help you here. If you define a cluster queue on both queue managers then one goes out of service, MQ will ensure that the messages get sent to the queue manager which can service them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Also, while both AS400's are up, you can use clustering to load balance your messages between the two queue managers. Then when one of the machines goes down, MQSeries will automatically start routing ALL the messages to the remaining AS400, as oppossed to the round-robin method it uses when multiple queue managers hosting the same clustered queue are available.


_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
bbanks
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Jul 2001
Posts: 8
Location: Concord, CA

Thank you again.

So, the trick then is for BOTH machines to have queue managers in the cluster ? Would they each have a repository or share one ? Would they also both have the exact QMgrs and queues ?

Thanks,
bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3253
Location: London, ON Canada

Be careful. There is a fine line between what can be done with clustering and what we would like clustering to do.

Your original post sounded like you wanted hot-swap ability. Clustering will work fine except one problem.

Lets say you have 2 queue managers (1 per AS/400 box) called MQA1 and MQB1 in a cluster. If you have defined a cluster queue called Queue1 then MQ will gladly work as Brian has stated.

If there were 3 messages on Queue1 (cluster queue) of MQA1 and MQA1 ended (normally or abnormally) then those messages will be stuck on MQA1 until it is restarted. MQB1 will get all future messages destined for cluster queue Queue1 but it will NOT get the 3 stuck messages on MQA1.

Someone will need to decide if this is acceptable or not (i.e. financial transactions vs web queries). Are these critical messages? Some food for thought.

later
Roger...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bduncan
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2002 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

True... Also, bbanks, when you ask "Would they each have a repository or share one ?" Keep in mind that in a cluster, all queue managers in it have a repository. It's just that some machines have partial-repositories, while others have full-repositories. The rule of thumb is to define two machines as full-repositories; it doesn't matter which two, although you'll probably want to choose your two most reliable machines
But there's nothing stopping you from having more or less full-repositories, although you can't have a cluster with zero full-repositories.
To your other question, "the trick then is for BOTH machines to have queue managers in the cluster ?" the answer is yes. To see a clustered queue on another queue manager, both it and the queue manager your application is connected to must be members of the same cluster. The moment this is true, then every clustered queue on that queue manager is accessible from your queue manager. Someone will probably correct me if I fail to mention that queue managers can actually be members of mulitple clusters, and there's nothing stopping a queue manager from having one clustered queue '1' which is a member of cluster 'A' and another queue '2' which is a member of cluster 'B'. This means all queue managers in cluster 'A' will be able to see the '1' queue, but not the '2' queue, and vice-versa.
So keep this in mind. When you add a queue manager to a cluster, you do so by creating a cluster sender and cluster receiver channel between that machine and one of the full repositories for the cluster. So now the queue manager is a member of the cluster, but this doesn't mean that all of its queues automatically become visible to the cluster. Each individual queue must be made a member of the cluster. So you can have a clustered queue manager with some queues in the cluster, some queues in another cluster, and some queues not in any cluster.


_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Sending Msg to Multiple Queues
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.