ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportEnable MQ to be aware that WAS is not working

Post new topicReply to topic
Enable MQ to be aware that WAS is not working View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
belchman
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:31 am Post subject: Enable MQ to be aware that WAS is not working Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Location: Ohio, USA

There is an app running on a two node WAS system and under the two WAS nodes is an MQ queue manager that is being fed by the MQ cluster 50-50. If one of the WAS nodes that supports the app terminates unexpectedly, MQ is unaware and the cluster keeps pushing message to the queue manager under that WAS system.

I am asking for some advice regarding if you have figured out a way to let MQ know that WAS is not there and taking that supporting MQ queue manager out of the cluster rotation.

My plan right now create a remote queues to the local queues on the queue manager under the WAS system that is still functional and write a script to allow the app admins to perform a dmpmqmsg (with privileged access) from the (failed) local queue onto the remote queue (to the good local queue).

The best way is to let MQ know somehow that WAS is not there and stop sending messages.

Thanks for any ideas you float my way.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5577
Location: UK

I would set up your monitoring to alert when the queue is not open for input.

Your automation could also look at the queue depth of the queue and if high could alter its cluster attributes to influence load-balancing.

You can simply remove the queue from the cluster, or put disable it to avoid further messages.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Location: Ohio, USA

Thanks ZPAT. That is a good idea. I just worry about the latency of the monitoring solution noticing and taking action.

But you did get me thinking. I could trigger a script on depth and then put inhibit the queue after the script verifies that WAS is not there. I could have monitoring get around to noticing the depth issue at its own leisurely pace and calling out after I have taken my actions.

I will chew on that.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:06 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5756

Or you could have the applications connect concurrently to each queue manager (one thread per for example), and if one instance goes down there will always be something servicing the queue.

Don't ask me about the mechanics of the above because I'm not a developer, but I have seen it done to replace a mechanism similar to what you were thinking of.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:11 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Location: Ohio, USA

Thanks EXERK. I did not even consider that. I will log into WebSphere and see what they have by way of QCFs and Queues and such.

I like this way because as soon as I write the script, MQ will own it and be too involved in stuff it should not be involved in. If I can get the app to do this in their JVM, both MQ and WAS support will be happier.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 663
Location: Illinois, USA

Also, take a look at amqsclm. It was written to handle this situation.
_________________
MQ administrator since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Location: Ohio, USA

Will do TCZIELKE. Let me take a look at that.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Location: Ohio, USA

tczielke,

Is the amqsclm sample production ready? I am not a developer and would like to avoid coding and compiling it. I know writing a script is programming, but it is easier that getting a compiler installed and coding and compiling a c-program.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportEnable MQ to be aware that WAS is not working
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.