ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportswitching from bindings to client mode

Post new topicReply to topic
switching from bindings to client mode View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mq__quest
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:26 am Post subject: switching from bindings to client mode Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 10

Hello guys,

I'm trying to understand what an application on WAS jvms need to change while switching from bindings mode to client mode in connecting to ibm mq. Appreciate any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1180
Location: Derby City, USA

Here is an article about this topic with an interesting twist.

The dude's shirt is truly outrageous but...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
exerk
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:01 am Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5750

mq__quest wrote:
I'm trying to understand what an application on WAS jvms need to change while switching from bindings mode to client mode in connecting to ibm mq. Appreciate any help.

If not using MDBs you'll need to catch MQRC 2009 and MQRC 2538 errors and deal with them, as explained HERE.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mq__quest
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:48 pm Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 10

exerk wrote:

If not using MDBs you'll need to catch MQRC 2009 and MQRC 2538 errors and deal with them, as explained HERE.


you mean the application guys need to write some code to catch the errors and reconnect to the mq servers automatically ?

Thanks for your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:39 am Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5750

mq__quest wrote:
you mean the application guys need to write some code to catch the errors and reconnect to the mq servers automatically ?

That's exactly what I mean.

So, for the MQRC 2009, disconnect, connect and open, and for MQRC 2538, wait a reasonable time, retry connect, and then after n attempts give up or try a different server. Ideally you should use queue manager groups for a client connection anyway (that's a preference of mine, not a hard and fast rule).
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1180
Location: Derby City, USA

Queue Manger Groups is what was at the link I posted earlier. It has been around for a very long time but I don't see people use it very much. The auto reconnect thing is interesting but doesn't always work, so you have to code for it anyway. Auto reconnect is not supported by JMS as they expect the connection factory to do that work. Whoever "they" is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5750

JosephGramig wrote:
...The auto reconnect thing is interesting but doesn't always work, so you have to code for it anyway...

Interesting. Can you qualify that with any examples please?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1180
Location: Derby City, USA

When I build MI Qmgrs on UNIX, I test with the sample programs exactly as outlined in the KC on this topic. Sometimes the switch happens exactly as you would think and sometimes the program just bombs with a 2009. I can repeat the test several times in a row and not get the same results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportswitching from bindings to client mode
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.