ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTrigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows

Post new topicReply to topic
Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:20 pm Post subject: Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 710
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Do you use a SERVICE object to start/stop your Trigger Monitor?

Are you on the Windows platform?

I noticed something about this set up the other day that I thought others should be aware of, so I wrote it up.

Running the Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE

Apologies if this has been discussed before and everyone already knows about this, but I thought it worth highlighting in case anyone hadn't seen it.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:58 am Post subject: Re: Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19218
Location: LI,NY

hughson wrote:
Do you use a SERVICE object to start/stop your Trigger Monitor?

Are you on the Windows platform?

I noticed something about this set up the other day that I thought others should be aware of, so I wrote it up.

Running the Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE

Apologies if this has been discussed before and everyone already knows about this, but I thought it worth highlighting in case anyone hadn't seen it.

Cheers,
Morag

Great analysis. Thanks.
I still go for get inhibiting the initiation queue and enabling it afterwards.
Nice work around if the stop does not work.
However it is better to fix it at the source!
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:32 pm Post subject: Re: Trigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 710
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

fjb_saper wrote:
I still go for get inhibiting the initiation queue and enabling it afterwards.

Indeed! That was always the way to do it prior to the invention of SERVICE objects, and of course still works just fine.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:18 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

I notice that your startcmd is different than your stopcmd in the service that gives you issues...

That is, the startcmd is /bin/ and the stopcmd is /bin64/

Do you have the same issue if they match?
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19218
Location: LI,NY

mqjeff wrote:
I notice that your startcmd is different than your stopcmd in the service that gives you issues...

That is, the startcmd is /bin/ and the stopcmd is /bin64/

Do you have the same issue if they match?

That was the whole point of her link. Use bin64 on both and no problem.
Use a mix and you cannot shutdown the service with the stop service command as the relevant pid is the 64 bit one and not the 32 bit one.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

fjb_saper wrote:
mqjeff wrote:
I notice that your startcmd is different than your stopcmd in the service that gives you issues...

That is, the startcmd is /bin/ and the stopcmd is /bin64/

Do you have the same issue if they match?

That was the whole point of her link. Use bin64 on both and no problem.
Use a mix and you cannot shutdown the service with the stop service command as the relevant pid is the 64 bit one and not the 32 bit one.


Ok.

I guess it's a relatively easy istake to make... but scripting every change to a qmgr should make it easier to avoid...
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:07 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 710
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

mqjeff wrote:
I guess it's a relatively easy mistake to make... but scripting every change to a qmgr should make it easier to avoid...

Agreed. That's why I thought it worth writing about. You might notice to correct the amqsstop program from bin to bin64 when migrating from pre-64-bit queue manager to post-64-bit queue manager, but because runmqtrm exists in both libraries you might not realise that there is a reason to change that too.

I was actually quite surprised to discover that the bin version of runmqtrm wasn't simply a copy of the bin64 program, but is some kind of wrapper thing. Which then results in the problem exhibited. Presumably it was done to avoid some migratory problems, but it actually causes another one.

Now if there was a +MQ_BIN_DIR_PATH+ replaceable insert, then you wouldn't see the problem either!!

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:25 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

hughson wrote:
Now if there was a +MQ_BIN_DIR_PATH+ replaceable insert, then you wouldn't see the problem either!!

Would it really be that easy to set a sensible default? It's easy to say "yes, make it 64bit"... but then you'd still have customers that might need to change it...

Plus the difficulty of making that available for changing and
  1. ensuring that it gets set in the environment that launches services
  2. making it easy for a customer to know about
  3. making sure that it's changeable without a full qmgr restart...
  4. Agus eile leithid

_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19218
Location: LI,NY

mqjeff wrote:
  1. ensuring that it gets set in the environment that launches services
  2. making it easy for a customer to know about
  3. making sure that it's changeable without a full qmgr restart...
  4. Agus eile leithid

Wow Scottish Gaelic none the less... (and other such [things]) !!!
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

fjb_saper wrote:
Wow Scottish Gaelic none the less... (and other such [things]) !!!


And if I were responding to you, I could have badly put it en francis
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 7800
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Sic transit gloria mundi.
_________________
I didn't know that Schrdinger had a cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

bruce2359 wrote:
Sic transit gloria mundi.

veni vidi vino
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5684

mqjeff wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Sic transit gloria mundi.

veni vidi vino

Dulce et decorum est...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 710
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

mqjeff wrote:
hughson wrote:
Now if there was a +MQ_BIN_DIR_PATH+ replaceable insert, then you wouldn't see the problem either!!

Would it really be that easy to set a sensible default? It's easy to say "yes, make it 64bit"... but then you'd still have customers that might need to change it.

Are any of the SERVICE object replaceable inserts changeable today? You don't have to use them of course, you can just type in the path yourself if you want.

And, I guess you can always make up your own one to put in the service.env file.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17311

hughson wrote:
Are any of the SERVICE object replaceable inserts changeable today? You don't have to use them of course, you can just type in the path yourself if you want.

I've no idea if they're changeable or not. Certainly some of them shouldn't be...

hughson wrote:
And, I guess you can always make up your own one to put in the service.env file.

... and now I wonder if you could override the base ones this way. But thinking about it, it's probably too late by then. The service launch process has already replaced the +constants+
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTrigger Monitor as a SERVICE object on Windows
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.