ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ File Transfer EditionMQ Agent in an Active-Passive Server Setup

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ Agent in an Active-Passive Server Setup View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
next
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 8:05 am Post subject: MQ Agent in an Active-Passive Server Setup Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 70

Hi,

We are trying to set up MQ MFT transfers for one of the target systems where it has an active-passive server set up with a load balancer.

When installing the MQ FTE Client, we can install in both the servers. But transfers can be configured to one target agent and we cannot create two agents with the same name.

Could anyone help let me know to get around this if you have come across such scenarios?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 6:32 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1634
Location: Melbourne, Australia

MFT agent instances can't be load balanced across 2 servers, because only 1 instance of a MFT agent can be running at any time. An agent needs to have exclusive access to its queues.

Quote:
active-passive server set up with a load balancer

This implies that one server is active (running apps) and the other server is passive (nothing running), and the load balancer knows which one of the two servers it needs to send traffic to.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
next
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 2:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 70

Is there anyway we can make a standby instance of an agent be available ?

Is it possible to create an agent with the same name registered to one coordination queue manager in the active and passive servers which use the load balancer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 8:14 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1634
Location: Melbourne, Australia

next wrote:
Is there anyway we can make a standby instance of an agent be available ?

Yes. Create the agent on both nodes, as though it was only going to run on that node.

Ensure that the agent can only run on one node at a time. (If there is an attempt to start the 'standby' instance, it will immediately shut itself down because it can't open its queues for exclusive access)

Ideally the config and logs directories for the agent should be on cluster resource disks that are only available on the active node.

Quote:
Is it possible to create an agent with the same name registered to one coordination queue manager in the active and passive servers which use the load balancer?

The coordination qmgr does not really care where the agent is created, it only retains publications that indicate its current state, wherever the agent is running.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ File Transfer EditionMQ Agent in an Active-Passive Server Setup
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.