ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportStarting Queue Manager with 0.0.0.0:1415

Post new topicReply to topic
Starting Queue Manager with 0.0.0.0:1415 View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
krypton
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:02 am Post subject: Starting Queue Manager with 0.0.0.0:1415 Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 111

Hi, we want to setup our MQ/Queue manager with IP address specified as 0.0.0.0:1415 so that it is not tied to a particular IP address.

How can we achieved that?
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:06 am Post subject: Re: Starting Queue Manager with 0.0.0.0:1415 Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24452
Location: Ohio, USA

krypton wrote:
How can we achieved that?


Define a listener that specifies port 1415.

Tell your network people / sys admins you don't want it assigned to a particular IP address.

Once they've finished laughing, they'll tell you that (like any other process running in the box) you get whatever IP address they assign to the stack and like it.

You can't give a queue manager listener process (or any other process) an IP address. It obtains one from the OS.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krypton
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 111

there is a parameter in DEFINE LISTENER Command


IPADDR(string)
IP address for the listener specified in IPv4 dotted decimal, IPv6 hexadecimal notation, or alphanumeric host name form. If you do not specify a value for this parameter, the listener listens on all configured IPv4 and IPv6 stacks.


So, if we don't specify any value in this parameter, does it has same meaning as 0.0.0.0:1415?
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:29 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24452
Location: Ohio, USA

krypton wrote:
there is a parameter in DEFINE LISTENER Command


IPADDR(string)
IP address for the listener specified in IPv4 dotted decimal, IPv6 hexadecimal notation, or alphanumeric host name form. If you do not specify a value for this parameter, the listener listens on all configured IPv4 and IPv6 stacks.


So, if we don't specify any value in this parameter, does it has same meaning as 0.0.0.0:1415?


Things you learn.

Given that 0.0.0.0 is the same as "OS defined IP address" then yes.

I'd be interested to know what happens if you specify an IP address that's not configured in any of the IP stacks.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

IF you leave the address as 0.0.0.0 then (especially if you are on a laptop) the OS will handle the change in address when you move networks using DHCP.

If you hard code an address and the Host IP address changes then it would not be a surprise to me to that there will be an nice error in the QMGR error logs about it.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:15 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17386

Vitor wrote:
I'd be interested to know what happens if you specify an IP address that's not configured in any of the IP stacks.


What happens when you try it?


_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24452
Location: Ohio, USA

mqjeff wrote:
Vitor wrote:
I'd be interested to know what happens if you specify an IP address that's not configured in any of the IP stacks.


What happens when you try it?



I'll add it to my to-do list, and report back.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportStarting Queue Manager with 0.0.0.0:1415
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.